Me Draw Cat

I am finally getting into the sketching habit. I’m NOT an artist, mind you, but it really is fun to scribble and sketch the things around us in our daily lives. Got a pad, pencil, brush? Make a little picture. Why not? πŸ™‚

So I’ve just been sketching whatever appeals to me. Cats are awesome, which is why they are such a popular drawing subject. Doug Rogers has been doing the cutest cat drawings on his iPad.Β Every one of them makes me smile.Β And Jane Gardiner has some beauties on her blog. I’m inspired by them both.

My little guy Prince was eating his dinner on the side stoop and even though he seemed to be in a skittish mood – moving around a lot, eyeballing birds, glancing at the street, very jacked and hyper, and acting in full neighborhood police mode – I still managed to sketch him as fast as I could before he would move again. Really fast! I got him down quickly in pencil and then colored him in with watercolor afterwards. A masterpiece!! πŸ˜†

Cats are the honorees of today’s “Music Monday”. For my fellow 80’s generation kids, do you all remember The Cure? Oh hell yes! This is “The Love Cats”.

18 thoughts on “Me Draw Cat

  1. Bill says:

    Great job — gesture, composition . . . and cats would seem like really good models. They take really expressive poses, and their modeling fees are quite reasonable πŸ™‚ Keep it up!

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Thank you so much! Your encouragement is most appreciated. So true about cats as models, although I could teach Prince a thing or two about sitting still πŸ™‚

      Claudia

  2. dougrogers says:

    It’s a lovely drawing Claudia. Please keep at it. BTW the callout was a bit of a kick in the butt. Thanks.

  3. Love Cats are awesome for a Monday morning!!! Thanks!

  4. Have you not noticed that all you need to do to be an artist is to scribble and sketch things? The trick is to find it the most fascinating thing in the world . . . . Honoured to be in the same sentence Doug Rodgers (and thanks for introducing me to his cats!).

    Hopefully we will see more of Prince πŸ™‚

    Cats do hold awesome poses, but don’t seem to like staying still for some reason . . .

    • artmodel says:

      Jane,

      For years I’ve been hearing artists talk about how important it is to sketch every day, even just a little something – around the house, on the train, etc. I’m really beginning to understand it. Besides, it’s just fun to scribble and sketch!

      Yes, Doug Rogers’ cats are a delight. I want to get an iPad! And you will definitely see more of Prince.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  5. Fred says:

    You got talent! The sketch has a great sense of form and liveliness. You really captured the feeling of Prince’s neck and face reaching into the bowl.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Thank you!! Gosh, everybody has been so nice πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you mentioned about Prince’s neck/head reaching into the food bowl. I was pretty happy with how that part turned out. It’s exactly how he looked! Prince, though, has more black in his markings than I made him in the sketch. He’s too brown. But I’ll get it right with more practice.

      Really appreciate your supportive comments, Fred!

      Claudia

  6. Ron says:

    I can haz veggieburger?

  7. Quite a fine piece, Claudia! Somehow it has an oriental feel.

  8. red dirt girl says:

    Delightfully whimsical your cat. New to your blog and am enjoying myself thoroughly! Happy Birthday.

  9. I am impressed. You are a drawer and I hope you keep it up.

Leave a Reply

