Sketching With Bruce

Hi everyone. I’m being terrorized by a mosquito right now. Aargh. Get outta here you bastard! ūüėą Anyway, the July 4th weekend has arrived and I’ll be heading upstate tomorrow morning with the family, right after I make my famous kick-ass cole slaw. My niece will enjoy swimming in the lake, while Auntie Claudie will probably fall asleep sunbathing and be no fun whatsoever!

Before I go, I’ll leave you all with some fun fast sketches by my friend Bruce Williams. Bruce and I had a private modeling session the other night, and I enjoyed it because Bruce is a man after my own heart; he likes quick poses, with lots of angles and curves, and creates drawings in a spontaneous, loosey-goosey style that captures the model’s movement. Throw in some great discussion about anatomy, cooking, and cats, and you have three delightful hours with a delightful guy. See you again soon, Bruce ūüôā

8 thoughts on “Sketching With Bruce

  1. HI Claudia,

    I’ve been upstate all week at our place in Shokan. We’ve had it for 10 years but will be renting it long-term starting October since we now live in the Bay Area. We’ll miss our place in Ulster County.

    • artmodel says:

      Hi Keith!

      We will be in Fallsburg, which I believe is in Sullivan County (?). I hear that Shokan is very nice.

      Even though it’s only temporary, welcome back to NY!!

      Claudia

  2. Rob says:

    Nice, loose work; my style, too…or what I hope to achieve!

  3. Fred says:

    Lovely lively drawings, Bruce. Claudia, I like the way you are able to adapt your posing style to the style of the artist you are working with!

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I definitely try to adapt. It’s easiest when you’ve known and worked with an artist for a long time, as I have with Bruce (and you!), and are familiar with what makes that artist tick, and what inspires them visually.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Andrew says:

    I really like that last drawing. Nice pose. The drawing itself looks quick and loose without looking rushed. The mirrored pose in the upper left is a nice touch.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      The last one was a longer pose than the others. It was a ten minute I think. I agree, Bruce did a really nice job with it.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

