Dadaist’s Dada

Did I go completely pun-crazy with this post’s title or what? But this is an art blog, it’s Father’s Day, and we have a portrait by Marcel Duchamp – famous Dadaist – of his father! So how perfect is that? 😆 I considered “Dada’s Dada”, “Daddy of a Dada”, “Who’s Your Dada?”, and a few others. Man, I’m silly. Anyway, it’s one of Duchamp’s earlier works and an impressive painting. The sitting pose, the palette, I think it all works marvelously. Although not representative of Dada, it’s still Marcel’s dada <—- Ok, somebody stop me with all this Dada stuff!

Marcel Duchamp’s Portrait of the Artist’s Father, 1910:

My dad is gone is almost seven years 😥  Still miss him so much.

Happy Father’s Day to all you Museworthy guys out there. Remember that you are loved, appreciated, and irreplaceable.

Hugs and kisses . . .

7 thoughts on “Dadaist’s Dada

  1. This Dada, who loves Dada and especially DuChamp, thanks you.

    And, I never met a pun I didn’t like. 😉

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      You are very welcome you wonderful Dada-loving dada!! 🙂
      And I love Duchamp too.

      Thanks for commenting! I’ll try to come up with some more puns.

      Claudia

  2. Gavin says:

    Thanks for the Father’s Day wishes. We actually do this on the same day, unlike mothers day, which is different over here.

  3. Fred says:

    That’s really quite a nice painting. Duchamp had many styles, but I never saw that style before. It looks a bit like a Cezanne.

    Fred

Leave a Reply

