Pictures Over Politics

With all the major events going on the world lately I have been tempted to address some of them here on the blog. I even started writing a couple of posts in which I discuss issues and express my opinion. But those posts remain as unpublished drafts. This isn’t a political blog and people don’t visit Museworthy for that stuff. I am very well aware of that. I also just assume that no one really cares what my political views are! I am absolutely certain no one is losing a wink of sleep thinking, “I wonder what Claudia’s position is on abortion?”. I just want everyone to understand that I care deeply about the world and I follow the news closely. So please know that I DO have opinions. Some fairly strong ones too. And they fall variously across the entire spectrum. I’m an “independent”, for lack of a better word.

However, I would like to get just one thing off my chest that has really, really started to irritate me the past few months. Folks, this liberal PC speech police thing has to stop. Seriously. It’s gotten completely out of hand. You can’t just carelessly hurl the words “bigot”, “hate”, and “ignorant” at people who merely disagree with you. That’s just nuts. If you’ve ever known a true BIGOT, as I have, you would know that to call someone that is an extremely serious assault on that person’s character if it’s not accurate. Liberals claim to stand up for “tolerance” but then engage in these fascist, name-calling tactics toward dissenting views. I’m sorry, but if you’re intellectually incapable of making the distinction between reasoned, thoughtful opinions that differ from yours, and “hate”, then you really need to work on your critical thinking skills instead of reflexively frothing at the mouth like a paranoid bully whenever you hear something that doesn’t fall in line with your rigid agenda. I am in no way denying the existence of real hate and bigotry in the world. I’m merely saying that we should recognize it where it truly exists, not where we simply perceive it to exist as dictated by our politics and visceral responses.

I just can’t handle this sanctimonious, self-righteous liberal attitude anymore, especially since I have considered myself a liberal on several issues. But these days, every time I talk to a liberal, listen to a liberal commentator on TV, or read a blog or column written by a liberal journalist, I feel like I’m being lectured, or scolded, or arrogantly told that I need to “get educated”. To that I say: kindly go fuck yourself. I’m plenty educated, thank you very much. Stop trying to “correct” me or intimidate me or accuse me of being “phobic” or “ignorant”. I am NOT ignorant. That is a really uncalled for personal insult. And the only “phobia” I have is of small, confined, enclosed spaces. That gives me the creeps ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

Ok, I’m done. Rant over. Let’s move on to the usual Museworthy business of art and pretty pictures. Just a few of my Metropolitan Museum photos that I’ve been meaning to post. Here are two of the Greek and Roman Gallery fountain with shiny, shimmery coins. I wonder if any of those wishes came true?

A fountain of a different sort, this is The Nymph of Danpierre, by Louis-Claude Vasse. Marble, dated 1763:

Visitors to the Met, in their excitement to see the famous paintings and sculpture, tend to blow off the artifacts and pottery displays. Or just give them a cursory look. But this plate really caught my eye. The colors and the detail of the battle scene are very impressive:

Yes I did take this picture of this sculpture at this angle on purpose ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nothing like a guy with a nice ass, even if he is made of stone:

And finally, one of my favorite spots in the Met to photograph, the staircase which leads down to main lobby:

20 thoughts on “Pictures Over Politics

  1. Gavin says:

    Tricky one this PC business, although I know what you mean and it probably works differently in the UK anyway. I’m old enough to remember jokes about Black people and Pakistanis being on prime time telly over here, so I’m glad that’s been stamped out. Nowadays they just tell jokes about us Ginger People instead, though. We’re not protected by the PC police ;(

    But you can’t try to police offensiveness. Ultimately, in a multicultural world, you’re bound to make the odd cultural gaffe. If people could just learn to give and accept apologies when it happens, we’d probably get along better.

    • artmodel says:

      Gavin,

      Making fun of “ginger people” is totally outrageous!! Now that is truly offensive.

      You’re absolutely right about the futility of policing offensiveness, especially since what is considered “offensive” is a subjective standard.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

      • Gavin says:

        You’re right Claudia, we Gingers need to organise and resist this oppression. I thought of calling us militants ‘cougars’, because that’s sort of a ginger panther, but then I found the name has been taken for something else.;(

  2. Bill says:

    It’s kind of ironic. I’m old enough to remember the Vietnam era, when many of the liberals were loud and obnoxious and many of the conservatives were smug and condescending. At some point, I think they all got together, had a few beers, and decided to switch roles.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I think you’re right about the switching sides, although I’m not old enough to remember the Vietnam Era (I was born in 68). I just wish we could have a free exchange of ideas without all those qualities you mentioned – loud, smug, condescending, etc.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. JD says:

    It’s kind of funny you mention this. At my weekly figure drawing club, there are quite a few liberals there and they like to talk politics while they draw. I normally wouldn’t mind- I love intellectual discourse and, like you, I lean left on some things. But I also lean right on quite a few others. And I was shocked to find myself in a room full of people who likened people “like me” to nazis and racists because of their political leanings. I ended up not commenting at all on the discussion, for fear of “outing” myself as one of THOSE people.

    Other than that, I get along great with these peeps and consider them my friends. But I’ve decided since then that my personal opinions will remain in the closet (as it were).

    Anyway, thank you for writing this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      JD,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s funny because I have found myself in that same situation in drawing groups, only I’ve been in the position of the MODEL, which is worse because I have to really keep my mouth shut! We are hostages like that.

      I’m glad you stated that you lean both ways on issues, as I do. That’s a key point in this whole issue, in my opinion. When you fall politically in perfect alignment with one side you at least have the comfort of having a “home” of sorts. When your views vary, nobody wants you! They want parts of you, but not the other parts. And that’s tragic because I think most issues are not so black and white and nuanced positions are more realistic.

      I, too, have kept my mouth shut for fear of “outing” myself in certain instances. But like you, I consider these people my friends, get along with them, and respect their opinions.

      Thanks so much for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. It’s hard to respond to this PC section of your post because you didn’t give any concrete examples. What bothers me, however, is the demonization of the word ‘liberal.’ This is the genius of the Republican party, and from a purely strategical standpoint, I give it up to them. Taking the concept of liberalism, and making it a dirty word, has led people to vote against their interests, and helped facilitate the corporatization of the U.S.

    Without liberals there would be no social security, no civil rights, no abortion rights (although these are rapidly disappearing) and no medicare. Yet, if you watch FOX news for as as little as five minutes, you would think that Democrats are responsible for all that is wrong with our country.

    Yes, the words ‘nazi’ and fascist’ get bandied about too freely. However, it’s not too far of a stretch to equate the Bush era with fascism. Bush et al used propaganda, nationalism, and militarism to achieve goals. For the record, I’m against the Obama administration keeping in place many of the Bush policies, such as warrantless wiretaps and illegal detention. From this standpoint there is a blurring of the parties, because the dominant party now, and the real enemy, in my opinion, are the corporations.

    • artmodel says:

      keith,

      Thanks for sharing your views, I know you are very passionate about these things. For the record, I am not going to defend Bush and his policies. I never voted for the guy and don’t support those things you mentioned. However, that stuff is not really what I was addressing with this blog post.

      First of all, I hope you don’t think that my views on liberalism have been in any way influenced by some Republican campaign to “demonize” the word liberal. Keith, I think for myself. Always have, always will. And I am not susceptible to brainwashing or indoctrination by either political camp. So I just want to be clear on that.

      You are probably right that conservatives have vilified liberals but as far as I’m concerned, liberals are just as guilty and have done the same thing. They have made monsters out of conservative figures who haven’t truly deserved it. Like Reagan. Look, I’m no big Reagan fan, but I have heard liberals refer to him literally as “evil” and “Satan”, while in the very next breath, praised Fidel Castro and Che Guevara as “visionaries”. I’m sorry but that’s just twisted. You also mentioned Bush administration “propaganda”, but do you really think liberals don’t engage in propaganda themselves? Michael Moore is a propagandist if there ever was one. We only call it propaganda when we don’t agree with the message. If we do agree we call it “truth”. So it only depends on one’s views.

      I’m glad you brought up those past achievements of liberalism because that has a lot to do with what I’m talking about. You are referencing what liberalism USED to be. Not what it is today. My mother is a perfect example of this. She is a true blue “old school” liberal. She’s still upset that Adlai Stevenson never became president! I don’t think she’s ever voted for a Republican in her life. But even she agrees with me about the PC stranglehold that has taken over the liberal voice in this country. Mom no longer recognizes the liberal position anymore. She doesn’t relate to the rhetoric she hears and is becoming, like me, alienated. That’s what this PC shit is doing to people, Keith. it’s alienating people who would otherwise be supportive.

      You asked me for examples, and I could give you tons. But here’s just one to clarify my point. Women’s rights/feminism have traditionally been associated with liberals, yes? Now I care about women’s issues very deeply, particularly ones that involve young girls. The PC agenda has DESTROYED the cause of protecting girls around the world. American women’s organizations have remained silent on the treatment of women in certain Islamic cultures because to criticize Islamic cultures is to be, apparently, “Islamophobic” (??), which is not “PC”. See how it works? And as a result, the women in those cultures who have no voice have been effectively betrayed and abandoned by liberal women’s organizations in the west. who should be speaking up on their behalf. This is a disgrace. And the brave women who are trying to speak up on behalf of oppressed, persecuted women, like Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Nonie Darwish, Phyllis Chesler, etc, have been stifled, slandered and attacked by PC liberals who don’t like the perceived “anti-Islam” tone. Personally, I don’t give a shit about the tone. A true “liberal” would put the plight of Afghan schoolgirls who get acid thrown in their faces for trying to get an education, AHEAD of political correctness. But they don’t. Instead, they have betrayed those helpless girls. On top of that, they are trying to muzzle the few brave women who ARE trying to speak up for them.

      This is what my blog post was about – the very serious problem that liberals and their PC agenda have with SPEECH. They used to be about principles and causes. But now they’re willing to abandon their principles in favor of political correctness. This is why they have lost me. If you need any further proof that this has gotten way out of hand, check out this story:

      http://www.spectator.co.uk/melaniephillips/6916904/free-speech-dies-in-denmark.thtml

      I know you regard liberals as past heroes of noble causes. But the reality is that they have in recent years morphed into a completely different animal. They are hypocrites. It’s not Republicans who have pushed me to this point, it’s been purely my own experience and observation.

      One last thing in your comments that I want to address. You mentioned that liberals were responsible for civil rights but that’s not exactly how it went down. Forgive me but I was a grad student in US History and civil rights was an area of concentration in my studies. So I’m going to whip out my Masters’ degree if that’s ok! Southern Democrats have an ugly history of being segregationists. In fact, the main obstacle to the passage of the Civil Rights Act was the “southern bloc”, which consisted mostly of Democrats in southern and border states. The perception that Civil Rights legislation was the result of liberal democrats fighting as a monolith against the big bad racist Republicans is simply not true. The southern democrats were so opposed to civil rights that they threatened to block the bill with a filibuster. Johnson knew that the only way to get it passed was to enlist the help of Senate REPUBLICANS to help break the filibuster. They did, and the bill was passed. By the way, the leader of that filibuster was none other than Democrat Robert Byrd – the same Robert Byrd who later became a darling of the left, once his despicable KKK past was renounced and his reputation whitewashed.

      Thanks for all your comments, Keith. I hope my comment response to you cleared things up a bit. I put principles first, and when political agendas compromise the principles I care about, it bothers me a great deal.

      Claudia

      • Great response, and I agree with many of your points. Yes, Johnson was opposed by the southern democrats, many of whom were virulently racist. It did take courage and conviction from LBJ, however,who by his own admission, realized that it would cost him the presidency. (as well as the Democratic party for the foreseeable future)

        I agree that it is wrong for women’s groups to stay silent on Islamic issues, although I don’t see how you can equate this idea solely with liberals. (as if the right wing ever had any love loss for the woman’s movement)

        Your point about lambasting Reagan, while praising Castro is taken, but then I’ve met plenty of Republicans with inconsistencies. How about protecting the life of an unborn child while supporting the death penalty?

        Except for at the fringes I don’t see that much difference between the two parties. I do see a disparity between the obscenely wealthy, and the rest of us 99%.

  5. Hum, I better stay out of the PC discussion, as soon as I say Attila the Hun was too far to the left, both sides are gonna dump on me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    None the less, purdy picturs, Claudia!

    • artmodel says:

      Oh come on, Jim!! Jump into the discussion! ๐Ÿ™‚

      If you want to discuss the “leftist” Attila the Hun, go right ahead ๐Ÿ˜†

      Glad you like the pictures.

      Claudia

  6. Casey Klahn says:

    Hey, Claudia. You go! Way to stick it to closed-mindedness everywhere.

    I truly believe that the last individual on earth will be an artist, because everyone else will be mind numbed.

  7. Mark says:

    I’m a radical centrist. I figure that if I’m pissing off people on both sides I’m where I should be. You are absolutely right about PC speech. Republicans demonizing the idea of liberalism is the other side of the same coin. The two major political parties are so similar as to be identical except in their rhetoric. The people at the extremes are viciously opposed to each other, but they behave in the same ways and neither extreme is either tolerant or tolerable. The media focus on the extremes and inflame the moderates of both sides (who mostly believe the same or similar things). However, as long as there is a buck to be made by doing so the media will continue.

    I think that we are eventually doomed to be our own circus that distracts ourselves from the machinations of the super-rich whose agenda has nothing to do with either the right or the left (or the center). They just want to control everything, and they’re well on their way to accomplishing that. You are probably right that your voice will not be widely heard, but if no one speaks out no one will hear. Stupidity is stupidity no matter who says it (it just isn’t PC to point it out).

  8. Claudia, your post and your long replies remind me why I admire you so much. I love getting a chance to hash these things over with you – and good luck keeping your mouth shut during the really severe bouts of liberal mutual self-gratification at the workshops. Ugh. The only thing they’re missing is a little ceremony to mark the Two Minutes’ Hate.

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      We have had terrific discussions, and I know we will have many, many more! Also, I am learning the fine art of keeping my mouth shut in certain situations ๐Ÿ˜€

      Now you’ve made me want to re-read 1984!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  9. Stephen says:

    Hey Claudia

    I am challenged by the balance in your anger.

    I find myself so easily slipping into the trap of self-righteousness and Judgementalism.

    I heard someone talking about the story Jesus told about the pharisee who prayed in the synagogue saying “thank you God that I am not like that tax collector over there”. Meanwhile the tax collector beat his breast and said “Oh Lord, forgive me, a sinner”. Just as I was feeling OK about identifying with the tax collector the speaker stopped me short by asking how many of us liked to pray “Oh God thank you that I am not like that Pharisee”

    I love your photo of the shimmering coins in the fountain.

    As always, it so nice to visit your place…

    Stephen

    • artmodel says:

      Stephen,

      So wonderful to hear from you! Thanks for sharing the story. And thanks for liking my coin fountain picture! I was happy with how it turned out. It’s pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hope things are well.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

