Muse of Motherhood

Hi everyone! My Mom is coming over soon and I have to straighten up and start preparing lunch. Just wanted to wish all the Moms out there a very Happy Mother’s Day 🙂

I was going to post one of the usual Mary Cassatt “mother and child” paintings but, with all due respect to Mary, I have something much better this time. From my good friend Daniel Maidman, this is his wonderful work of fellow artist’s model Piera with her baby boy Lorenzo. I have had the pleasure of seeing this painting in person, and it has become one of my very favorites of Daniel’s.

This is Piera and Lorenzo, oil on canvas, 2010:

11 thoughts on “Muse of Motherhood

  1. Thank you so much Claudia! I’m honored to make your list of art to do with mothers and children – it’s been a great privilege and pleasure to have the chance to make art from Piera’s experience of motherhood, and Lorenzo is so adorable you just want to eat his foot every time you see him. Happy mother’s day to you and your fantastic mom!

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      I was searching images for this Mother’s Day post when I just said, “Forget this. Daniel’s Piera and Lorenzo is perfect!”. All your creations during Piera’s pregnancy and after the baby’s birth are just wonderful. And it doesn’t hurt that Lorenzo is such a cutie!

      Thank YOU Daniel, for the painting and for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Fred says:

    Great choice for a mother’s day post! A beautiful painting.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I agree. And you’ve done excellent drawings of Piera yourself. She’s an inspiring person, both as a model and a mother.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  3. derek says:

    I remember Piera
    Its been ages since i sketched her
    I understand she is taking time off to be with her new born
    congratsw to her from one parent to another

  4. derek says:

    PS. I almost forgot a happy mom’s day to your mom
    My regards

  5. Jennifer says:

    Lovely painting 🙂 Also, hope you have those horrible allergies reasonably under control now! Take care! Jennifer

  6. Wonderful. Congratulations to all concerned.

  7. Thanks for all the kind words about the painting, folks! I’ll pass your congrats along, Derek – she is taking time off, but my wife and I are friends with her and her husband and see them fairly frequently.

Leave a Reply

