Tony, Jean, and Me

The majority of art modeling work is done solo. Although sessions with two or more models is less commonplace, the opportunity to draw from more than one life subject brings unique challenges for everyone involved. Artists are given choices in figures and portraits, and the models get to work together in a collaborative effort, which is a nice departure from the usual solitary posing. A two model session can mean two models posing separately each on their own platform, or it can be arranged with the two models posing together as one composition.

Last Saturday I had the pleasure of posing with Tony Robinson for an all day drawing group in midtown. An outstanding artist’s model, Tony is also an actor, singer, and comic book artist.

Here is Tony drawn by Jean Marcellino. For this and all the drawings in this post, Jean used pastel pencils and NuPastel sticks on different colored papers:

Although by no means a requirement for art modeling, a well-built physique presents human anatomy with impressive clarity, and artists have the opportunity to draw contours and definition. Tony is terrifically fit and muscular as you can see in Jean’s drawing of his back in this standing pose:

I have never been a big prop person with my modeling. I will use one if asked but I have a weird aversion to the practice (I really should get over it at this point!). However, I fully understand that a creatively used prop can add interest, help to form more shapes and lines, and showcase the model in a unique way. A fine example is Tony’s use of his sash in this drawing by Jean:

For the first half of the session Tony and I posed separately. For the second half we set up a joint pose of Tony standing and me sitting in a chair. It looked great from all views and the artists took several minutes walking around us to find their spot. Jean, always fearless when it comes to taking on the tricky angles, chose this excellent composition:

Saturday drawing was really fun and a wonderful, productive day. Thank you Tony and thank you Jean! 🙂

23 thoughts on “Tony, Jean, and Me

  1. Nice selection & looks like it was a great session, Claudia!

  2. Ilene Skeen says:

    Great job, all three of you! It’s so wonderful that you share this. I like your comment about props, also.

    • artmodel says:

      Ilene,

      I have to get over my “prop-phobia”. It’s stupid 😕
      I am always honored to share work by wonderful artists like Jean. Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    Lovely drawings!

  4. Fred says:

    Jean has a great eye and a beautiful style, and I’ve drawn Tony before too – he’s an excellent model.

    Don’t worry about your prop-phobia. Some models love to use props. Different models have different approaches, and that’s what we love. If props aren’t your thing, they’re not your thing. But if something shifts and a prop starts to seem inspiring for you, go for it. Sometimes props allow models to hold poses they wouldn’t otherwise be able to hold, which can be great to draw.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I just realized that I should make a prop exception for flowers. Flowers are nice. I’ve posed with flowers before and I don’t consider flowers a “prop”. But I will never forget that time years ago at the Art Students League when the monitor made me pose with that stupid basket of fake corn and gourds. It was so dumb and looked ridiculous. I think that’s when my prop antipathy was born!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  5. Dolores Frey says:

    looks like you all had an excellent day. wish i had been there. d.

  6. ronansmom says:

    These are beautiful drawings! Thanks for your email, btw. It was so great to see Mr. Chris. Hopefully we’ll see you soon!

    • artmodel says:

      Emily, thank you so much! Yes, these drawings by Jean are beautiful, I agree.

      I’m so glad Chris was able to visit, if only for a short time. Wish I could have been there 😦

      Great to hear from you! Kisses to Ronan.

      Claudia

  7. Thanks so much, Claudia, for posting my work, and for the barrage of compliments. Also thanks to those of you who’ve added such nice comments. Without an inspiring model (or in this case models), nothing much happens.

    • artmodel says:

      Jean,

      It is my pleasure to post your drawings, always. They look fantastic both in real life and on Museworthy! And thank YOU for your consistent acknowledgment and appreciation of the models and the work we do 🙂

      Hope to see you soon!

      Claudia

  8. Thanks for this posting to your blog Claudia. It was ABSOLUTELY GREAT working with you! Hope to do it again. And Jean Marcellino, thank you again for having us. You are an amazing artist and it’s always a pleasure to work with you (and it’s great to know our connection with “the Seminary”)

    • artmodel says:

      Hi Tony!!!

      So delighted that you commented on this post, thank you! We did some really good posing on Saturday, especially you. Yes, it was great working together, and I also hope we can do it again. Until then, be well 🙂

      Claudia

  9. Andrew says:

    I laughed when I read your comment about fake corn and gourds. Contrived motifs don’t appeal to me either. (I heard a teacher say that any object added to a figure drawing adds a narrative. I wonder what the narrative is for plastic vegetables.)

    I do use props for gestures to give some context to the action. That’s my thing, but other models may be inspired by dance or something else. I think Fred’s comment is right on. Every model brings their own style to the mix.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      You mean you don’t think plastic vegetables are inspiring?? 😆

      I agree with you, of course, that each model has his/her own style and should pose in a way that is most comfortable to them. We are respected as individuals, and that’s great.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  10. Gavin says:

    Those are some great drawings!

    I like to use props too. My favourite is a four foot longsword, but it’s tricky to get on the bus (and you have to be careful, England still has lots of obscure Medieval laws in place about when it’s legal to kill Scots or Welshmen, and when they’re carrying swords is probably one of them).

    It’s possibly a male/female thing? Male models are usually expected to do some dynamic action pose and a prop helps? Or we’re just lazier and like to have something to lean on? 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Gavin,

      I totally agree that there is a male/female element regarding props. I’ve observed that male models use them much more. And no I don’t think it’s due to laziness! I think some props – like poles, sticks, and your sword you mentioned – heighten the masculinity of the male form, where with a female it seems incongruous.

      Careful with bringing that thing on the bus! I love your stories 🙂

      Claudia

  11. Gavin says:

    I just had one better than a double pose when the organiser somehow managed to book three models by mistake;) They all took it in good humour and just got on with it, but it was hard work for us artists! I’m quite looking forward to modelling for that class as they do a lot of short poses, which gives you the chance to show off a bit.
    I put my drawings up on this site, it’s mostly British, but we have a few US models and artists too;
    http://www.lifeart.co.uk/art_talk/showthread.php?p=22845#post22845

    Hope you don’t mind the link;)

  12. Gavin says:

    Hi Claudia,

    Yes, sorry, didn’t think. You’ve got to register, but it’s quite a good chatroom, and some more Americans would be welcome;)

    I’ll be setting up another website soon as I’ve been making a few quid designing tattooos which will have more of my art on.

Leave a Reply

