Fauré’s Pavane

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend. I worked, as usual, and worked again today. An art model’s duties are ongoing. Tomorrow I have a much needed day off and I’ll be spending it doing my taxes. What a delight.

Anyway, I’m a little tired but it’s still Monday, which means I can still offer a post for “Music Monday”. Lately I’ve been really getting into the music of Gabriel Fauré. I’ve always been a huge fan of the French composers. Love them all equally I’d say. But hearing Fauré’s famous “Pavane in F-sharp minor” on classical radio the other day reminded me just how amazing he is. I think I prefer it to Maurice Ravel’s “Pavane for a Dead Princess”. A pavane is slow dance, which was popular in Europe during the Renaissance.

This video features Fauré’s Pavane with beautiful, haunting images of sculpture. I think they compliment the music very well. Enjoy, and I’ll see you soon 🙂

9 thoughts on “Fauré’s Pavane

  1. Chris Hajian says:

    Lovely!

  2. Otávio says:

    It’s a real music for the any time.

  3. Tom Relth says:

    Thank you for posting. Also your site is inspiring. Keep it up. -TR

  4. violinhunter says:

    It is a very beautiful piece indeed. It sounds like the Royal Philharmonic.

  5. Ken says:

    Fauré’s Pavane is one of my favorites.

    Might I suggest Rutter’s Pie Jesu? A clear soprano, hitting the high ‘A’ always sends chills up my spine!

    Here’s a good one:

Leave a Reply

