Singin’ in the Rain

I’m afraid I depressed the hell out of everybody with my last post. Sorry about that! I hope you all let me make it up to you with today’s “Music Monday” and a buoyant scene of pure happiness, brought to us by classic Hollywood 🙂

We are having rainy, rainy weather here in NYC. The forecast tells us that it will go on all day and into the night, with thunder and high winds. Fortunately for me, I’ll be holed up for hours in the National Academy, working back to back classes for Gabriela Dellosso. But if I were Gene Kelly and was madly in love with Debbie Reynolds, I’d be having a grand old time in the rain. From the 1952 MGM film “Singin’ in the Rain”, this priceless scene never fails to deliver no matter how many times it’s viewed. I think I love it even more now. Hollywood doesn’t produce stars like Gene Kelly anymore nor does it make musicals like “Singin’ in the Rain” anymore. But it’s wonderful to recall what used to be created with great talent, great music, and the magic of a Hollywood soundstage. Apparently, Gene Kelly was sick with a 101 fever the day this scene was shot, but you sure can’t tell from watching it. Gene Kelly was totally the man. I wanted to take tap lessons because of him.

Enjoy this video everyone. And to my fellow New Yorkers, stay dry today!

Leave a Reply

