Making Guitars With Pablo

My mind has been a little distracted lately. I’m steeped in a state of jumbled contemplation over some personal and professional issues. Nothing to worry about, as I’ve done plenty of issue-wrangling in my life. I’m a pro! But it’s affecting my mental focus these days, and my blogging too. I can’t seem to get into my “groove”. So it was quite fortunate that a topic for “Music Monday” fell into my lap today, courtesy of the Museum of Modern Art. Thank you MoMA!

Their new exhibit is called “Picasso Guitars, 1912-1914”, and the exhibition website is fascinating reading and very easy to navigate. You can view rare images of Picasso’s studio, up close details of his experimental guitar project work, and read informative text. It is an amazing glimpse into the creative process which began one day in 1912 when Picasso, with his artistic imagination in high gear, like a young child in kindergarten art class, cobbled together a guitar using only common materials of cardboard, string, paper, wire, and a little glue. In that rudimentary sculpture piece, Picasso saw something. He then created another guitar, this time with sheet metal. Then came drawings, collages, photographs, and eventually, paintings. Picasso was playing with the apparatus for Cubism but searching for a new direction. And it all started with a crudely assembled cardboard guitar he made in his Paris studio one day in 1912.

Here is one of Picasso’s guitar constructions, sheet metal and wire:

“Picasso Guitars” is on view through June 6th. Enjoy the MoMA exhibition site I linked to above, it’s really fascinating. Lots to see and explore. Also check out this article and gallery slideshow on The Daily Beast. I’m going to get my head straightened out. See you soon, friends 🙂

12 thoughts on “Making Guitars With Pablo

  1. Ron says:

    Move over Clapton, Hendrix, and Van Halen. Pablo Picasso is the original guitar hero.

  2. Not too shabby on Guitars but how was he on Taishōgotos (大正琴)? 😉

  3. Fred says:

    The guitar becomes an important motif as Picasso is making a move towards radical abstraction. Perhaps the form of the guitar can be seen as an abstraction of the female body. A xylophone or an accordion might present more naturally “cubist” elements, but the guitar is more sensual. The guitar may also be an expression of Picasso the emigre’s Spanish identity.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yes, definitely has elements of the female shape. You men do like curves 😉
      I hadn’t thought of it as symbolic of Picasso’s Spanish heritage. That’s a great point.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. michirezin says:

    Great blog! A great resource for those interested in art and art modeling. I’m an art model in San Francisco and couldn’t help but notice how it seems there is much less clothed model work in NY? Or am I wrong?

    • artmodel says:

      michirezin,

      Thanks for visiting Museworthy. Welcome! I’m not sure I can really answer your question because I don’t know the modeling situation in San Francisco, and therefore can’t compare it to NY. But there is certainly clothed/costumed work here. It all depends on the type of session. Figurative art schools, where I do much of my modeling, use nudes a lot. Wherever anatomy is studied, a nude model is essential. But there are plenty of portrait painting classes and painting classes in general that like a clothed model from time to time. In a big city like ours, there’s something for everybody, both models and artists! Hope this was helpful.

      Please stop by again and share your comments!

      Claudia

  5. LK says:

    I relate to your feelings, and in this way, I hope your state of jumbled contemplation falls directly into place, as though mixed up puzzle pieces suddenly make perfect sense to form a beautiful picture.

    *LK*

    • artmodel says:

      LK!!!!! So great to hear from you. I hope you are feeling better 🙂

      I wasn’t sure about my use of the phrase “jumbled contemplation”, but I could count on you to get it. I can’t report yet that the pieces have fallen into place yet. I’m hoping they do soon. Aaaarrrrghh!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  6. Eric Clayton says:

    Hi Claudai,
    Thanks for the link to th exhibition. I can’t go, but have ordered the catalogue.

Leave a Reply

