A for Anatomy

Whew, I’m tired. Busy week. I just got home from work a little while ago. I’ve kicked off my shoes, taken my vitamins, put my feet up, and am trying to stay awake long enough to write this post. When I’m more alert, I will tell you all about my plans to do a series of blog posts on anatomy. I’ve mentioned it before, and I don’t want you to think I forgot about it! I haven’t. In fact, I’ve been extra inspired lately because I’ve been modeling for a lot of anatomy classes and lectures these past few weeks. It’s been great. Rob Zeller‘s superb anatomy lessons at The Teaching Studios have been especially informative and inspiring. He’s amazing! I’ve been so fortunate in my art modeling career to have worked with some of the best anatomy instructors around. I pose, I demonstrate, I listen, I learn. It’s a first rate education, and the best part is that I get it for free!

My blog posts will come from a model’s perspective of course. I hope I can bring a fresh and slightly different viewpoint to the subject of anatomy. And naturally, I’ll have photos 🙂

Robert Beverly Hale is considered one of the great masters of artistic anatomy instruction. Over at the Art Students League here in New York, the guy remains a legend. He taught and lectured there for many years. I found this old video of a Hale lecture on YouTube. The quality isn’t good but it’s still worth watching as it’s quite rare and historic. It was filmed a long time ago, although it doesn’t indicate the year. Check it out. I’m off to bed, friends. I need some serious sleep!

4 thoughts on “A for Anatomy

  1. doug rogers says:

    Yay! Anatomy photos!

  2. the first anatomy book I ever pored over was written by him. you’re right, the man is a legend

Leave a Reply

