Snow – The Good, The Bad, The Artistic

I was taking it all in stride. I really was. This twice-weekly snowstorm pattern that has developed this winter. But now I suspect I’m suffering from “snow fatigue”. Many New Yorkers are I think. The weather forecast predicts 6 – 12 inches of snow and we’re like, “MORE snow???? Not again!!!” 😮

But like anything else, winter snow has its good and bad qualities and produces a variety of experiences and reactions. Allow me to share some of my personal snow-related anecdotes over the past few days.

Nice snow anecdote number 1: I looked out my bedroom window the morning after snow fell overnight. It was, in a word, beautiful. Pure white, totally fresh, fluffy, powdery, lightweight, accumulated along branches and twigs and everywhere. I watched a little bird as it attempted to alight on a snow-covered twig. It flitted around, trying to find the perching surface. Eventually it knocked off the snow and found its footing. It chirps. It’s happy. It’s a happy bird in spite of the snow inconvenience. It goes about its regular business of looking for food, surviving, just being a backyard bird in Queens. Birds rock.

Bad snow anecdote number 1: I discovered that a ton of accumulated snow slid off my roof like an avalanche and crashed to the ground, its weight breaking off four feet of the rain gutter AND a piece of roof slate in the process. The remaining broken and bent remnant of gutter sticks out from the house at a fucked-up looking 90% angle. Ugly and awful. Spring home repair, and it’s accompanying nuisance and costs, awaits. Oh joy.

Snow Effect With Setting Sun, 1875, by Claude Monet:

Nice snow anecdote number 2: Amazing icicles along the windowpanes! They put on quite a dazzling show with their crystal-like clarity and shape formations. A winter exclusive. Take that, summer!

Bad snow anecdote number 2: One word – SHOVELING

Morning Sunlight on the Snow, Eragny-Sur-Epte, Camille Pissarro, 1895:

Nice snow anecdote number 3: I enjoy a fun afternoon taking pictures of children sledding in the park.

Bad snow anecdote number 3: Cancelled art modeling jobs 😦

A Morning Snow, by George Bellows:

The Snow Storm by Edna St. Vincent Millay

No hawk hangs over in this air:
The urgent snow is everywhere.
The wing adroiter than a sail
Must lean away from such a gale,
Abandoning its straight intent,
Or else expose tough ligament
And tender flesh to what before
Meant dampened feathers, nothing more.
Forceless upon our backs there fall
Infrequent flakes hexagonal,
Devised in many a curious style
To charm our safety for a while,
Where close to earth like mice we go
Under the horizontal snow.

6 thoughts on “Snow – The Good, The Bad, The Artistic

  1. You got 2 things up there I love:

    St. Vincent Millais, and George Bellows

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Sorry about the broken gutter, Claudia, and the shoveling. I did some shoveling yesterday (Saturday), too, getting rid of the pile of snow behind my car so that I can actually back it out of its spot. A true miracle happened, however, when my car that I have not touched for about six weeks actually started when I turned the key!

    Our “friend” Mr. Bloomberg pulled another fast one on Thursday, the day after Wednesday night’s blizzard. First he told city government workers (like me) to stay home because City offices would be closed. Then he changed his mind and told people that they should come in – like they’re supposed to sit next to the radio all day waitng for him to change his mind! So, people who heard that they should stay home (like most of my co-workers) are now supposed to lose a day’s vacation time because they didn’t come in. It just shows how disconnected from reality this guy really is.

    Let’s see what this week’s new storm will bring us. Good luck.

    (Nice snow images, by the way.)

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      That Bloomberg thing doesn’t surprise me AT ALL. Yes, he is disconnected from reality, and seems actually proud of it! Ugh. Can’t wait until we’re rid of that jerk.

      But glad that your car started. Congrats!

      Claudia

  3. ronansmom says:

    I so dig that Millay poem. Millay — and birds in Queens, of course — rock! Shoveling? Not so much. They say it’s good exercise, but whatevs. xo Emily

    • artmodel says:

      Emily!!!! I’m so thrilled and delighted that you posted a comment on Museworthy!!
      Thank you!

      As much as I hate to admit it, shoveling really is good exercise. But I’d still rather watch birds and read Millay 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

