Suite Salvador

It’s “Music Monday” everyone, and what a nice treat we have. I came across this enchanting video which initially struck me as kind of random – the world-renowned cellist, and one of my favorite musicians, Yo-Yo Ma performing Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1, set to a slideshow of Salvador Dali paintings and photos. The Bach and Yo-Yo Ma pairing makes perfect sense of course. It’s the Dali that seems the odd duck in this grouping. But then I watched the video, and what a wonderful surprise it was. Everything fell into place magnificently. It lends credence to the theory that if you simply combine timeless, inspired, quality things together you really can’t go wrong.

The “Prelude” to Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1, which you will hear in this video, has become one of the most recognizable classical compositions due to its widespread use in movies and television, including an American Express commercial. It was especially prominent, I remember, in the 2000 movie “You Can Count on Me”. What makes the piece so haunting is that it is written for unaccompanied cello, which allows the soloist to communicate in a way that is both dominant and intimate. Cello creates such rich, resonant sounds, and when played expressively as Yo-Yo Ma does, the results are quite stirring.

So I hope you enjoy this video. Masterful Baroque meets masterful Surrealism, accompanied by the always masterful Yo-Yo Ma:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

7 thoughts on “Suite Salvador

  1. Andrew says:

    Another excellent music selection. Bach and Dali may be an odd pairing, but the context of Museworthy Music Monday brings it all together.

  2. Mark says:

    Outstanding. Of course, the fact that I’m a fan of both Bach and Dali helps and from my (perhaps warped) point of view the juxtaposition of the two seems almost natural. I’m not sure I want to know what that says about me!

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      It says only wonderful things about you, among them your superb taste in artistic expression of all forms. Obviously, both Bach and Dali are high achievers in that regard. I found the juxtaposition as captivating as you did. Great video.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Great, Claudia, even if I did wait until Friday to listed to Monday’s music.

  4. violinhunter says:

    Yo-Yo Ma is not my favorite cellist but i’m sure that is not important to anyone. This post allowed me to catch up with your blog through 2011 and it has been a truly enjoyable ride. I want to tell you what a wonderful writer you are, willing to share so much. I can sense your beautiful personality by how you write. Now, backward to 2010 for me!

Leave a Reply

