Snowpocalypse

Ok, with a show of hands, who’s snowed in? :raises hand: It was a doozy, wasn’t it? I am super lucky in that I don’t have to work today, which means I don’t have to make the difficult trek into Manhattan. Instead, I can stay holed up in my house in Queens, toasty, cozy, and warm 🙂

Georgia O’Keeffe, Bare Tree Trunks With Snow, 1946:

Since this morning, I have seen neither hide nor hair of my two cats (they’re ferals) and I’m worried. I know what you’re all thinking – don’t worry about cats. They’re smart, resourceful, and blessed with exceptional survival skills. Yet even though I”m aware of all that, I still worry. I was outside earlier shoveling out little paths, calling out “Prince? Jackson? Come on out babies!”. But no sign of them yet. The issue with this blizzard is the intense drift. The blustery wind is blowing wildly and forming huge dunes of snow. But a cat can’t get buried, right? Is that even possible? They know to seek higher ground, I hope. Where are my little boys? What if they’re trapped!! 😥

This dove has been chillin’ out on the telephone wire behind my house. Maybe he knows where Prince and Jackson are? Speak bird!

I have to pull myself out of this missing cat panic mode. How about “Music Monday”? We’re all familiar with Antonio Vivaldi’s famous composition “The Four Seasons”. The “Spring” section, or “La Primavera”, is probably the most recognizable. But the “Winter” section is wonderful too. So for the snowpocalypse of 2010, here’s Vivaldi’s “L’inverno”, Concerto for Violin and Strings in F minor. WINTER has officially arrived . . .

15 thoughts on “Snowpocalypse

  1. Dave Rudin says:

    I raise my hand figuratively. (Hard to type with one hand up.)

    I got up five minutes earlier than my usual 5:30 a.m. to go to work, put in my eyes, gave my face a buzz and then, before eating breakfast, checked the MTA website to see if there were any delays on the subway lines I take. Answer: yes. In fact, more than yes – the subway line that comes out to me here in Brooklyn was shut down all the way to downtown Brooklyn. ( I just now checked again and it says the line is shut down all the way to 57 Street in Manhattan!)

    So, ’twas a day to stay home, which made it a four day weekend for me. I called in to two people at my office and neither one answered, so maybe they couldn’t make it in, either. Too late to go back to bed as I was up already, I looked at some art here on the web, developed three rolls of film from my trip to Japan, called up Verizon to fix a phone problem and may try tackling my stereo problems next.

    I hope your day was productive, too.

    As for winter music, the Vivaldi is beautiful, but may I also suggest Tchaikovsky’s Symphony #1, which has been given the title “Winter Dreams.” It’s not played nearly as much as his later symphonies, but it is still very beautiful and I think you’ll like it.

    Good luck, too, with the cats.

    Yours,

    Dave

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      You made good use of your snow day. Mine was fairly productive too. Well, “productive” by my standards at least! 😆

      I just listened to Mayor Bloomberg’s typical snotty response to the complaints about poor handling of the blizzard. Dave, I swear, I despise that elitist little man more than I can express. His condescending corporate executive bullshit makes me so mad every time I hear his dumb nasal voice. The man is clueless. He tells us “the city is fine”? Fuck him and the limo he rode in on! He’s an arrogant little puke with a Napoleon complex who has nothing but contempt for the people of this city. I’m supposed to work at Spring Studio tomorrow night and I may not be able to get there because my street still hasn’t been plowed and the railroad has suspended service.

      Thanks for the Tchaikovsky recommendation. I haven’t heard the first symphony in a very long time. I’m going to check it out.

      Hang in there, Dave, and keep warm!

      Claudia

      • Dave Rudin says:

        Jee, Claudia.

        I’m not quite completely sure of this, but I have the sneaking suspicion that you don’t like this mayor of ours…LOL. (Please read my blog posts about Bloomberg’s re-election last year: http://figuresofgrace.blogspot.com/2009/11/nettie-r-harris.html
        and
        http://figuresofgrace.blogspot.com/2009/11/triumph-of-mammon.html . I think you’ll appreciate them. I wrote about the Yankees, too, and you know how much I like them.)

        I don’t know if you remember or learned about it, but in the late 1960’s, Mayor John Lindsay nearly lost his bid for re-election because many of the streets in Queens were not plowed after a snowstorm.

        I hope you can make it to Spring Street tomorrow. According to the MTA website, the train I take into Manhattan will likely still be out of service in the morning. (It’s an outdoor line that runs in an open gulley where lots of snow can collect on the ground.) The options to get into work would be 1) try to take a $5 express bus into Manhattan, but who knows how long that would take; that’s how I went to work during days two and three of the transit strike a few years ago (day one was a boat from Brooklyn to Manhattan), and getting home those two days was a nightmare; or 2) try taking a regular bus to the closest subway line that is running, but again, who knows how long that will take.

        So, I’d better get to bed now to get ready for what lies ahead tomorrow. Good luck to you and hopefully I’ll have some, too!

        Yours,

        Dave

  2. Andrew says:

    The snow effect on your blog complements the Georgia O’Keefe painting nicely.

    I really enjoyed the Vivaldi selection. Three times.

    Your cats are probably at a neighbor’s house playing poker…. or do only dogs do that?

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      I agree about the snow effect. It looks pretty!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the Vivaldi. As for the cats, they don’t strike me as poker types. That’s for dogs. I think cats are more chess players. Or maybe dominoes 😆

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    The news of the snowstorms in New York and on the east coast reached UK TV. I hope your cats will turn up soon – let us know!

    We are finally thawing out here, but I’m sure there will be more winter in store for us. Once upoin a time, if we got snow, it wouldn’t be before the end of Jan …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I have good news to report about cats! Prince has made his appearance, and what a relief it was to see him. He seemed fine. A little perturbed with the cold, the snow, and the wind, but still ok. He was meowing his brains out and I fed him a nice hearty meal.

      Now I haven’t seen Jackson but I’m less worried about him because he’s more of a wanderer than Prince and much more independent. In fact, I haven’t seen him for a couple of days prior to the blizzard, so his absence may be due more to his habits of late than the storm itself.

      Thanks for commenting, Jennifer! I’m sending warmth over to England 🙂

      Claudia

  4. Bill says:

    Greetings from the snowlands of Boston. I’m particularly bummed since this is the second straight Monday night life drawing session that we’ve canceled due to Winter storms. What’s particularly funny is that I’m egocentric enough to take snowstorms personally — I mean, doesn’t the universe understand that I have plans?! How dare it snow? 🙂

    But thanks for the Vivaldi — and I hope you get to work OK tomorrow night.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Greetings to you, Boston friend! You have every right to be upset at cancelled life drawing. it’s just plain wrong! Here in NYC, Spring Studio does not cancel sessions due to weather, but my getting there tomorrow is not looking good at all right now. I have managed to get to work during all sorts of adverse circumstances, but this one might be one to defeat me. The city and the transit system are pretty paralyzed. I’ll be sad if I can’t make it in. With all this holiday time off, I’m hankering to do some art modeling. I want to get up on that platform!

      Glad you enjoyed the Vivaldi. I just watched an excellent program on PBS about Glenn Gould and I think he’d make a good Music Monday post.

      Thanks for commenting, Bill. Hope your life drawing session resumes next week!

      Claudia

  5. Lisa B. says:

    Hi Claudia,
    I’m in D.C. and I’ll worry about your kitty ’til he comes home. We adopted a feral kitten when his mother abandoned him in the front yard. He absolutely terrorizes Daisy, our rottweiler. Seriously.

    Good luck with the snow. Down here the government usually just stays home.

    • artmodel says:

      Lisa B.,

      Prince the cat has appeared and is clearly alive and well. He looks great in fact! He’s eating, romping in the snow, having a blast apparently. I haven’t seen Jackson yet but he often disappears for days under normal weather conditions so I’m trying not to worry too much. He’s a wanderer.

      Your feral sounds like an amazing cat! I’m trying to picture him terrorizing the rottweiler. Feral cats have balls!

      The snow situation here in NY is really bad, unfortunately. But we’re hanging in there as best we can.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  6. Bruce says:

    Out here in Stanley we have 24″ of snow too, but its been building up. Meg tried to return to New York yesterday, the airline said it was on schedule so we drove down to Boise only to find out that there was no way for her to get back to NYC before Friday. Lots of fun driving over mountains in a snowstorm in the dark. Hope New York gets dug out soon.

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce!!!!! Reading Museworthy out in Idaho! You’re awesome 🙂

      It’s just as well that Meg couldn’t get here. There are horror stories of planes stuck on runways at JFK for hours, passengers trapped, without food, etc. Horrible.

      When are you coming back to NY? At the rate things are going we may not be dug out by your return. Idaho might be better!

      Miss you Bruce! Love to Meg 🙂

      Claudia

  7. Snow? It warmed up, here, to -4° today so we might get a little. It’s been too cold to snow. Usually no fresh snow here when it’s colder than twenty below as it’s been most of this month. Of course what fell in November will still be here in April. Sure you don’t want to come up for a plen air modeling gig, Claudia?:-)

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      Are you serious about the -4? Oh my god. We’ve been down to temperatures in the 20s and that’s more than cold enough for my taste. But you Alaskans probably consider that a heat wave! You guys are badass.

      I think I’ll pass on that plein air modeling. But thanks for offering 😆

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

