12 thoughts on “All-Nighter

  1. Mark says:

    You got a better view than we did in central Ohio. I could see it somewhat, but there was a thin layer of clouds; so it wasn’t distinct. Thanks for getting a good photo.

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      Yes, we were very lucky here in NY. The skies were clear and perfect for viewing. But the eclipse is a tricky thing to photograph for amateurs like me! This was basically the only decent shot of all the ones I took.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Ron says:

    That shot has a really nice effect with the snow falling in front of it.

  3. Charlotte set the alarm for 1:45 a.m. We stumbled around in a sleepy daze, hoping we could find a window we could see it through instead of suiting up for the cold. Sure enough, there was one. It was the start of the eclipse, so only a little bite taken out of the moon. We went back to bed. Fortunately, a friend of Charlotte’s called about forty-five minutes later to talk about the eclipse, so I went back to that window and by then the moon was full red. So were my eyes when I got up at 7:45 the next morning. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      I’m glad you got to see it! I did the sleep/set alarm thing too, I didn’t trust the “stay awake” strategy. It worked out well, actually.

      Thanks for sharing your eclipse-viewing story!

      Claudia

  4. Mike Gordon says:

    Out here on the west coast, Walnut Creek, Ca. to be exact it was high misty clouds, and the moon was directly overhead so I couldn’t use my tripod, I leaned against a ladder. None of them turned out as crystal clear as yours. Nice shot. Mike

    • artmodel says:

      Mike,

      Thank you so much! Like I said in an above comment, we were really lucky to have such a clear night. I know California weather hasn’t been so great lately.

      But most of the shots in my batch were just so-so. This was the best one by far. I’m learning with my photography that it’s often about getting that ONE good shot. I’m sure you know what I mean!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  5. yeah, I also saw that in Brooklyn. Froze my behind off but she was a beaut

  6. Paul S says:

    I missed it. Thanks for the photo 🙂

Leave a Reply

