Christmas Time is Here

Hi everyone! I have emerged from my Sunday cocoon, rested and ready to jump back into action. I’m going gift shopping shortly, but first a Christmas video for “Music Monday” 🙂

When we were kids, my brother and I loved the Peanuts Gang. What kid didn’t? Peanuts rules!! In addition to the great animation and the cute, memorable characters (I was a Linus girl), Peanuts had excellent music! I’m sure none of you have forgotten the groovy, upbeat theme song composed by Vince Guaraldi. I looked forward to watching “A Charlie Brown Christmas” every year. I still watch it as an adult!

The song “Christmas Time is Here” is the musical highlight of the Peanuts Christmas special. I can sometimes relate to Charlie Brown’s feelings in this video clip. But he learns, as we all do. The song is sweet and touching and the Peanuts characters are too cute for words. Thank you Charles Schultz.

When this video ends, click on the “Christmas Dance” for some smooth moves from the Peanuts kids. A smile is guaranteed! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Christmas Time is Here

  1. Dave Rudin says:

    That is a charming clip, Claudia – and I loved the ending…LOL I was also a big Peanuts fan when I was a kid (as you said, what kid wasn’t?), though my favorite – and the one I try to watch every year – has always been The Great Pumpkin.

    As a matter of fact, my all-time favorite Christmas cartoon just arrived in the mail today on blu-ray: “Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol.” I haven’t seen it in ages and I can’t wait to watch it again! I have yet to see a better version of the classic Dickens tale. (The part with the ghost of Christmas future always used to give me the willies.)

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      I’m grateful for all these comments because I’m sitting here answering them at 1:30 in the morning, trying to stay awake for the lunar eclipse! If I read or watch tv I’ll probably fall asleep.

      I love The Great Pumpkin! Thanks for mentioning that one. Haven’t seen it a while though. And I completely forgot about Mr Magoo’s Christmas Carol! That’s a real oldie. Like you, I haven’t seen it in ages. Another favorite of mine is Rudolf. I would cry hysterically from that one when I was a little girl.

      I got your emails, Dave. Thank you so much. I will reply to them soon 🙂

      Claudia

  2. The last few years it seems that musicians have discovered this song. I never used to play it, but thankfully these days I do. Along with I’ll Be Home for Christmas, and Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, it’s my favorite holiday song.

    I work with a singer who knows how to do the Christmas dance — it is hillarious! She also imitates the way the Peanuts characters lift there heads towards the sky when they sing 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      keith,

      You and my mother have the same taste in Christmas songs. Those two you mentioned are her favorites. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas is one of my favorites too.

      The Christmas dance is hilarious! So cute. I love how Linus is totally making the moves on Sally 😉

      Good to hear from you, Keith! Hope all is well in San Fran.

      Claudia

  3. LK says:

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Casey Klahn says:

    Happy Christmas, Claudia.

    With 2 rugrats of my own, I am well up on all the yuletide vids. Happily, this is the first year I could get them to sit through the whole Its A Wonderful Life movie. But, it had to be colorized…

    • artmodel says:

      Casey,

      Better colorized than not at all, if those are the options. I hope they appreciated that wonderful, heartwarming classic.

      Thanks for commenting, and Merry Christmas to you!!!

      Claudia

  5. Yea yea it’s cute, but is it art? 😉

    Of course it is, and anybody that disagrees, -I’ll sic Peppermint Patty on them!!

    Merry Christmas, Claudia, and very best wishes to you and yours in the coming year!

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      Peppermint Patty is not to be messed with! And if Damien Hirst can be considered “art” then Peanuts surely can!

      Thanks for the holiday wishes Jim! Same to you and your family 🙂

      Claudia

  6. Jennifer says:

    Ahh! Great stuff – a reminder not to be too much of a ‘Charlie Brown’ about the snow or the season 🙂 I don’t remember animated Peanuts, but loved the cartoon books.
    Wishing you a Snoopy-fun-filled Christmas!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

