Zonked

I’m wondering which brand of exhaustion is worse. The “art modeling” brand which comes from a busy work schedule and hours of posing, or the non-art modeling “holiday activities” brand, which involves shopping, Christmas parties, and volunteering. I’m beginning to think that the latter is more draining. Lately it’s been kicking my ass worse than art modeling.

But it’s all rewarding, wonderful goings-on and I assure you I’m not complaining. Well maybe I am complaining just a little bit about the transit system which has been screwing me lately. Last night, the 1 train subway traveled uptown at an infuriating snail’s pace and it took literally 30 minutes to get from Penn Plaza to 86th Street. That’s insane. And today, an M4 bus blew right past me as I was waiting at the bus stop on Fifth Avenue. I kid you not. The driver saw me standing there and just kept on driving!  What am I, chopped liver? Thanks MTA 😆

Anyway, my brother and sister-in-law threw a fantastic holiday party at their apartment last night. So festive and spirited. I had a great time! I was all dressed up and looking pretty, and I indulged in a few glasses of red wine. I got home late and then had to be up bright and early this morning (not too hungover thank god!) to help out at the Yorkville Common Pantry. All the volunteers worked really, really hard. No breaks, no goofing off. We packed hundreds of bags and handed them out to the needy families who started picking up their groceries around 10 AM.

So now I’m just beat. I don’t want to move, I don’t want to walk. I just want to lay around, do nothing, and recharge for the upcoming week and  another round of holiday madness!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend my friends. I’ll see you on Monday. Until then, I’m out!

zzzzzzzzz

James McNeill Whistler’s The Arabian, circa 1892:

12 thoughts on “Zonked

  1. doug rogers says:

    That’s a nice kind of exhaustion.

    The Whistler reminded me of the images from this post…

    http://www.boingboing.net/2010/12/16/the-past-years-12-ed.html

    … composites of the last 12 cosmo covers

    • artmodel says:

      doug,

      Definitely a nice kind of exhaustion. The body may get tired but the spirit is lifted.

      Thanks for the link to those “shrouded” magazine covers. I see they overlaid them on top of each other. Cool!

      Claudia

  2. Ron says:

    Chopped liver? Certainly not! You’re vegetarian.

  3. Brian says:

    Hey Claudia,

    I feel your pain. All of this holiday madness we put ourselves through each year is draining! This is one of the reasons I avoid malls at all costs during the last quarter of the year.

    Best wishes to you (and your family) this holiday season. I hope you get a chance to relax for awhile (a few more glasses of red wine?). Tell Chris I wish him luck with his new studio location.

    And as for being chopped liver…never!

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      Thanks so much for your warm holiday wishes! The same to you and your family.

      I will give Chris the message. He’s very excited about the new studio space, especially since he was having trouble finding one these past few months. But he finally got this one in the Film Center Building at 45th and Ninth, so he’s pretty happy.

      Good idea to avoid the malls at this time of year. I do the same. And Brian, happy belated birthday wishes! I’m so sorry I forgot to email you.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Dave Rudin says:

    Ah, yes – the joys of New York City transit….LOL I’ve had buses pass me by, too, and once had to stand on a train for an hour at the Atlantic Avenue station due to some delay, on the way home after having been sequesterd the night before on jury duty!

    I’m glad you had a good time at the party and that you can look good with clothes on, too. Kudos to you on the volunteer work.

    Regarding the Whistler, it’s a lovely work – and definitely not his mother! I don’t think I’ve seen it before, and I doubt that we’ll see Arabian women depicted like this today. Still, it is an appropriate metaphor for an exhausted art nude model!!!

    Happy holidays to you and your family.

    Dave

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      Your transit story is awful! Waiting an hour at Atlantic Avenue is bad enough, but after being sequestered for jury duty? Holy crap. That’s brutal! The things we put up with living in this city.

      The Whistler was new to me too, and I liked it right away. I also think I was drawn to her relaxing loungey pose. She looks so nice and comfortable.

      Thanks for your comments, Dave, and happy holidays to you too!

      Claudia

  5. Jennifer says:

    I guess preparations are long this time with a full week before Xmas! The weather over here is making things difficult too; about to go out now and do battle with the elements! In case this is your last post before the event: ‘Happy Holidays’!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I’m about to go out myself, but luckily we have no snow, just cold temperatures. Brrr!
      I will post again before Christmas so you can visit here for a brief blog holiday break from the craziness.

      Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

