Forward Thinking

Thanksgiving week is upon us. I can’t believe it! Seems like I was just spending summer vacation in Miami and Cape Cod and now the holiday lights are strewn over Fifth Avenue and Christmas decorations are popping up all over the city.

First I want to share this really cool art item. The actor Robert De Niro, a native New Yorker, has established a new painting prize to honor the legacy of his father, Robert De Niro Sr., an abstract expressionist artist who died in 1993. Such a nice thing to do. Read the article here. Artists, get your submissions ready!

Also, I uploaded a new photo set on my Flickr page last night. They are pictures I took at the Blessing of the Animals ceremony held at All Souls Unitarian Church. Check it out for some adorable kids, cats and dogs 🙂

In the comments section of the last post I mentioned my interest in starting a second blog on Tumblr. Well, I thought about it over the weekend and it’s definitely a go! I’ve just been feeling this impulse to expand, share, and show – as if I don’t do it enough already! Museworthy will not change. I’m going to use the Tumblr blog as a platform for me to just post random fun and interesting stuff with minimal text. My extended writing and art modeling will always stay here on Museworthy where it belongs. I haven’t started the Tumblr blog yet but when I do I will announce it here. I do, however, have ideas for this blog that I think will be fun for everyone. I really want to make a video, and I’ll probably have to enlist the help of my friend Fred Hatt for that one.

Let’s do a “Music Monday” with the Swedish artist Carl Larsson. After enduring a terribly unhappy childhood of poverty, hardship, and a drunk, abusive father, Larsson finally found contentment through art and domesticity. Larsson married Karin Bergoo in 1882 and they went on to have eight children. Larsson’s devotion to his happy family life is reflected in his work, which prominently feature his children as models and his lovely home as interior.

Carl Larsson painted his young daughter Brita practicing her music in this work Brita at the Piano from 1908. As I looked at this painting I wondered what other painting it reminded me of. Then it hit me; the Matisse work that appears last in this earlier Museworthy post. Although very different styles of art, the similarities are  quite interesting – the green color, the black music rack, even the perspective and subject matter.

4 thoughts on “Forward Thinking

  1. Fred says:

    Love the Larsson – great composition, unusual dynamic perspective on a scene of simplicity and warmth. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Alex says:

    May you find in life the things for which you can truly be thankful. May the beauty you bring to the world be the way in which you give thanks.

    I wish you great happiness today and always.

    -Alex

Leave a Reply

