A Finished Creation

This post is a little overdue but worth the wait I’m sure. Back in September I posted about Daniel Maidman’s work-in-progress from our private modeling sessions. The painting is now finished and I’m so delighted to post it here. When I see myself as the subject of an imaginative, intelligent, vibrant and striking artwork such as this, I am reminded of how lucky I am to be an artist’s model. Being hired and paid to do this, and work with amazing people like Daniel, is a uniquely gratifying and groovy existence. It never, ever, ever gets old. How can it when there is always another artistic vision and interpretation yearning to be created?

Visit Daniel’s blog post on this work to see the final painting next to his initial thumbnail sketch.

Here I am, like a fertility goddess, in Daniel Maidman’s Living Things Came From Her, oil on canvas, 60″x40″:


14 thoughts on “A Finished Creation

  1. You kinda made me tear up, Claudia! I am so happy you’re pleased with this painting; it’s an honor to work with you – you’re generous and beautiful and endless fun to talk with. I’m looking forward to the second one!

    Lots of love,

    Dani

  2. Bill says:

    I had wondered how that project was going — excellent painting! Of course, the model has a lot to do with it — congratulations!

  3. Elaine says:

    Thank you Daniel for the beautiful painting of my daughter Claudia. I am thrilled that she inspires so many artists to paint not only her physical beauty but her inner beauty as well.
    You are an extraordinary artist. My congratulations on an exceptional work of art.

  4. Well done, both of you. Artists need models as equally passionate about the creative process. One of my own models once said : ” If you can’t be the poet, be the poem”. I think it’s apt.

  5. Mark says:

    Well worth the wait! I like it very much.

  6. Truly beautiful! It has a ‘Garden of Eden feel to it and shows woman as both mother figure and object of desire.

  7. Thank you so much, all of you! Bill, you bet the model has a lot to do with it! Elaine, who were good enough to make a Claudia and who knows her so well – I feel like if you’re pleased, then I really did an OK job – and she sure has a lot of inner beauty to match the outer part. Pigmentpondering, that’s a pretty neat quotation – I think a lot about the categories of being and doing. Mark, thank you, I’m glad it was worth the wait. And Poetic Beauty – I am just thrilled you see her that way in the painting. I felt that way about her, and I think she’s really like that…

    Thanks again – most of all to you, Claudia.

    Daniel

Leave a Reply

