Jackson Up A Tree

So the past few mornings I’ve had to will myself out of bed. If I didn’t have all this art modeling work I’d probably stay nestled under the warm covers, possibly for hours, sleeping, moping, isolating myself like the dejected little baby that I am these days. But after a couple of sleepy hits on the snooze button of my alarm, I finally pulled myself out of bed this morning. I rubbed my eyes and looked out my bedroom window to find my cat, Jackson, way up in the dogwood tree. It certainly put a smile on face. It was so cute in fact that I got my camera and went out there, with bed hair and sweatpants, and took a picture of his crazy cat ass:

The boy is completely nuts, and I love him for it. And his little white nose. There’s a backstory to this. A roaming tomcat is harassing the other cats in the neighborhood, and an all-out turf war has erupted. I’m pretty sure Jackson was chased up the tree by the tomcat thug. From what I’ve observed there seems to be some bad blood between those two. Ah, cat drama.

I’m sorry to have missed a music post this week. Hope you all forgive me. If it’s any consolation, it’s not solely my mood that’s put me out of synch. It’s a really busy work schedule plus organizing for my mother’s 75th birthday next week. A lot of fun stuff in the works for that terrific, auspicious occasion and my brother, sister-in-law, and I are busy with those plans. So it’s really a very good time πŸ™‚

Hang in there with me, my friends. I’m here, I’ll be fine, I’m still blogging. And my cats will probably still run up trees πŸ˜†

18 thoughts on “Jackson Up A Tree

  1. Jennifer says:

    That really doesn’t look very comfortable, but definitely better than being beaten up by the neighbourhood thug! Good luck with the work and the lovely family party preparations. It always helps to keep busy …

    Thinking of you

    Jennifer

  2. Ron says:

    That’s a great shot, claudia, especially for someone just dragging herself out of bed. Very abstract. I’m glad to see you’r e feeling a bit better. I know that feeling all too well. It sucks but have patience. It gets better. Really. Keeping working on your modeling and on your family plans. And happy birthday to your mom. πŸ™‚

  3. Ron says:

    Nothing to do with the post above, but since you’re a fan of jazz trumpeters, check out google’s logo for today.

  4. Fred says:

    If you do an image search for “leopard in tree”, you’ll find many pictures of Jackson’s cousins in almost exactly the same position!

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I did the search, thank you! What great pictures of those beauties. My favorite big cat is the cheetah, but the leopards look so cool and comfortable lounging in the trees, just like little Jackson πŸ™‚

      Claudia

  5. Cute, Claudia, very cute. I just finished a cat sketch & I’m definitely not really a cat person, much prefer dogs, wolves and, at a distance, bears. πŸ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I like your cat sketch! Beautiful eyes. I am neither a dog person nor a cat person. I love both equally and appreciate their respective qualities. I love all animals. Cats have that “psychotic” streak in them which I kind of like. Dogs on the other hand are loyal and emotionally needy which I really relate to! πŸ˜†

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  6. Bee says:

    Sorry to hear you’re still under the weather– I find myself in slumps like that as of late– longer and longer each time. But the picture of your cat in the tree made me smile as well. Its little things like that that helps you through the end of the day.

    For me today, it’s knowing that it’s cold and rainy out and I’ve got a new chic winter coat to wear about the town that’s extra super warm… can’t wait to get out there in the cold air and enjoy it!

    • artmodel says:

      Bee,

      Thank you for expressing this so well – coping with these mood slumps and just taking things day by day. A cute little cat in a tree can sure do the trick, and so can a great new winter coat! Enjoy it! πŸ™‚

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

