Discontent

Aarrgh . . . grrrr . . . dammit 😦

Oh screw me and my complicated romantic issues. This is some utter horseshit. I’ve issued a three day deadline on this glum phase, and if it passes that cutoff I’m charging myself a fine. That’s it, no excuses.

Thank god for glorious figurative art and the superb classical realist painter Jacob Collins. A New York artist I have actually never met or posed for, I am decidedly a fan. It’s impossible to be a professional life model and not be a fan of this:

Reclining Nude by Jacob Collins:

It’s 1 AM. I’m going to bed and will do this “pose” right now, although I will be sulking and sobbing much more than Jake’s model. Anyone want to come over and paint? 😆

18 thoughts on “Discontent

  1. Mark says:

    Maybe she was sulking and sobbing but he chose not to include her tears. Sorry about your situation. I hope things improve soon.

    • artmodel says:

      Mark, thank you!!

      Things will improve for sure, no worries. It’s all just fresh right now and I’m using the blog to work it out through expression and release it. Unfortunately that means inflicting it on my readers!

      Claudia

  2. Bettina says:

    Hi Claudia. IT is bettina – from nicki’s class/NAD. i have not seen you for awhile but alas i stumbled upon your blog and i think it is terrific! i love the musical mondays/ loved that clifford jazz piece and the joan armatrading piece. and i love that the blog is so full of info on different artists/ shows/ ideas. well i will check in from time to time and look forward to meeting in real time soon.

    bettina

    • artmodel says:

      Bettinaaaaaaaa!!! Hey girl!! This is so great hearing from you! It’s about time you visited my blog, dammit! 😆

      I’m up at at the NAD several times over the next few weeks. Maybe I’ll see you there?
      Hope things are well, and thanks so much for your nice comments about Museworthy.

      Claudia

  3. Andrew says:

    WOW! That Jacob Collins painting is amazing. Everything about it feels so genuine, like I am right there.

    I can’t imagine how good it must look in person. The web does not do justice to most original artwork.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      I’m not at all surprised that a fellow artists’ model is excited by Jacob Collins’ work. I share your admiration. The guy is amazing. I hope you visited his website for more stunning figurative works.

      I agree that viewing art online doesn’t compare with viewing in person. A lot gets lost on our monitors. But we do the best we can.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Ray says:

    Claudia , before I read your post I was blown away by by this painting, and I swore that was you!

  5. Jon says:

    I found your site randomly. I admire your passion for modeling. Artists need more models like you.

  6. I like Collins too. He’s in New York isn’t he? Why don’t you hunt him down and ask him if you can sit for him?

    Plus, I hope you feel better soon. You oughta! Life is good, especially yours. 🙂

  7. Jennifer says:

    First a cut to the hand, now a cut to the heart – life is certainly being tough on you at the moment! Hope it won’t be too long before the hand and the heart have both healed …

    Have taken a look at Jacob Collins’ website – wow, can he do drapery!! (Humans too, of course.)

    Brrrr, first nip of winter here!

    Take care

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      The hand has healed . . . the heart not yet 😥 But it will, I hope!

      Your warm, thoughtful comments are a consistent source of comfort to me, and I appreciate them more than you know. Love hearing from you 🙂

      Yes, Collins is a master at both fabric and flesh. I don’t usually get excited over drapery but in his case I make an exception!

      Claudia

  8. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for your kind words to me too 🙂 Given Fred’s suggestion that you could contact the Grand Central Academy, perhaps some professional good will come out of a personal low …

  9. dougrogers says:

    Hey, sweetheart, men ain’t nothin’ but trouble…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

