First Aid Friday

Ouch!!!  Ouch, ouch, ouch!!! Hey everyone. I just had a horrible scissors mishap. It’s bad enough that it’s pouring rain on my day off and can’t go running or bike riding in the park. Now I’ve inflicted injury on myself.  See? This is what happens when I’m confined indoors. I was trying to open a delivery box and was using a pair of scissors. Because I’m such a careless klutz, I cut right into the skin on my hand, in the soft part  between the thumb and the index finger. Ow, man! Hurts! 😥

So after completely freaking out at the sight of blood pouring down my arm, I finally stopped the bleeding. I just hope everyone at Spring Studio tomorrow doesn’t mind their model with a double-bandaged hand. You know, I realize that the modeling platform is the only place where I am graceful and coordinated. In the rest of life I am terribly clumsy.

Can’t really blog anymore. The typing is difficult. This whole post is stupid, right? It’s raining and miserable outdoors. I’m miserable and in pain indoors.

I’ll be back soon. Until then, have a great weekend. And be careful with scissors!!

14 thoughts on “First Aid Friday

  1. Jennifer says:

    Nooo! I’m sitting at home equally miserable as I’ve just sprained my ankle in a pothole! I was heading for London to see ‘Five Guys Names Moe’, which is on here for a month (I saw it at the beginning of the month with my daughter and the actors were so brilliant that I arranged to go again, with my husband, as he likes Clark Peters from ‘The Wire’). I’d parked in the station car park and was walking round the car to get to the other door, when – wham! – I caught my foot in a specially prepared foor-sized pothole and down I went! Husband already in London, so had to do various dragging myself around to make sure we didn’t get a car ticket next day, as I couldn’t now drive the car, before negotiating a gazillion stairs to get a taxi home – certainly not a Good Samaritan in sight! I’ve tried lying down, but it’s actually less painful to sit, so am on the comp for a while and thoroughly emoting with your pain-filled blog! I do hope that your hand will soon heal – I can well imagine how painful it is! It’s also pouring with rain here too and the first signs of autumn in the air – let’s just hope both our weekends somehow improve from here on in:)

    Take care, Jennifer

  2. LK says:

    Thank goodness you weren’t running down the hallway when it happened, things could have gotten really dangerous.

    Your hug was sincerely felt, btw, I had reservations about posting that kind of stuff…I remembered things about you so actually, I didn’t want to really post about it, but the picture made think. I hope I didn’t affect anything.

    Much love to you, sweetest of sweetness, and easy on the self-inflicted wounds… body’s got a lot more modeling to do!

    • artmodel says:

      Lk,

      I considered running down a hallway with the scissors, on a wet floor, with a blindfold on, but I decided against it 😆

      I’m glad the sincerity of my cyber-hug came through. You wrote a powerful piece. I know what it’s like to post painful personal issues on a blog – it’s a really vulnerable feeling knowing that it’s out there for the whole Internet world to see. But you are such a brave, sensitive, expressive person.

      Thanks for your comments, friend . . .

      Claudia

  3. Careful young ladies, don’t run with scissors, especially around pot holes, when it’s raining, & hope you’re both feeling better soon.

  4. Andrew says:

    Careful… you could poke an eye out.

  5. I totally sympathize! A few months ago, I was being reckless with scissors, and I managed to cut a perfect V clean through the skin at the base of my fourth finger on the right. I thought, “Wow, that’ll need some stitches.” But I figured I would try taping the hell out of it overnight and see how things were going in the morning. It sealed right up and has hardly even left a scar. Weird. I hope you feel all better soon!

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      Yes mine is healing up quite well I must say. I’m relieved to hear that I’m not the only one who has scissors accidents!

      What scares me with these cuts is that I am a bleeder. My blood must be very thin or something, so I tend to freak out and panic. I’m like a borderline hemophiliac!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  6. Jennifer says:

    Hope the wound has done some healing over the weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

