Strings and Sensibility

This blog reached its all-time high stats on Saturday, and THEN went on to break that record the very next day, Sunday September 26th. Hmm, interesting. You don’t think it has anything to do with the extreme closeup, ful-frontal nude reclined photo that’s been up over the weekend, do you? Naah. I say it’s just a coincidence 😉

First let me direct you all to Fred Hatt’s newest blog post; a marvelous discussion of foreshortened figure poses with dazzling drawings accompanied by Fred’s great commentary. He also mentions a bit about our photography session the other day which is pretty cool.

As for me, I’m fine, I’m working, and life is good. Well, I’m not 100% fine in that I’m a little on the distracted side. Both my mind and heart are preoccupied with a certain something/someone/situation and it’s making me a little cuckoo. Nothing at all to worry about my friends. I know you all care about me 🙂

But it’s a heady feeling, even with this pinch of anxiety I have. Strange how one can experience uncertainty, exhilaration, frustration, ardor, ambivalence, desire, and stress all at the same time! I’m like a hot simmering soup of many spices and flavors. That’s an awful analogy but I can’t think of anything better right now. I’m distracted, remember?

Anyway, let’s move on to “Music Monday”. I recently “re-discovered” an artist who I have really only known from one painting at the Met. I’m somewhat ashamed that I haven’t paid more attention to him. He is the American painter John White Alexander and I was reminded of him again when I came this across this lovely painting. I’ve been keeping it on reserve in my image stash for a Music Monday post. Alexander began his career as an illustrator in New York, but went on to pursue formal fine arts training in Europe. While there he befriended fellow American expatriate artist James McNeill Whistler. By the 1890s, Alexander was producing work mostly of female subjects and portraits. To achieve his decorative, graceful painting style, Alexander employed linear contours, broad brushstrokes, and a soft palette.

This is John White Alexander’s Ray of Sunlight, or The Cellist, from 1898:

6 thoughts on “Strings and Sensibility

  1. Fred says:

    That is just beautiful – and a painting I’ve never seen before. I love the lighting effect and the face and the dynamic composition. It doesn’t look like she’s playing that cello, though – maybe tuning it?

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yes, she could be tuning it, and it also looks like she’s holding it in a loving embrace. The viewer feels a real bond between the girl and instrument. Her face almost has a look of rapture, I love it 🙂

      Agree with you about the lighting and composition too.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. doug rogers says:

    Wow. What Fred said. Love the big almost abstract forms, the volume and that light!!!!!

    • artmodel says:

      doug,

      I love when you get excited about a work of art, it’s contagious! Yes, the light is magnificent, and I’m glad you mentioned the volume. Amazing.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  3. Tuning or plucking one string, none the less, quite dramatic. Looks like she’s playing standing, Apocalyptica need another player?;-)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Lovely image. I guess the anxiety/distraction may have led to the later scissor injury – take care!!

Leave a Reply

