Just Call Me a Neo-Pagan, Theravada Buddhist, Liberal Quaker

There’s a quiz on the website BeliefNet called “What Religion Am I?“. I like taking quizzes, I admit it. So I took the religion quiz and my results were very interesting! The number one result is the closest match to your beliefs and then the list goes down to include 26 other faiths, the ones at the bottom being the least compatible with your answers.

I took the quiz twice because I had some difficulty with the first few questions and wanted to mull over those tough ones and try again. The later questions I found very easy, so I was able to answer them quickly and confidently, the exact same answers both times. My results from the two tests varied just slightly. The first test put me as a Neo-Pagan in the number one spot which actually surprised me. Then a Theravada Buddhist, then a Liberal Quaker. Now most of you probably don’t know this but I attend silent worship at a Quaker meeting house on Sundays. Not every week, mind you, but I show up often enough to feel like a regular participant. I am “Friend” Claudia 🙂

On the second test, Theravada Buddhist knocked Neo-Pagan out of the number one spot. Woo hoo! Then Unitarian Universalism came out of nowhere to occupy number two. Then Neo-Pagan again. And then Liberal Quaker at number four. The only results that didn’t change were the bottom three – the faiths least compatible with my spiritual beliefs. They were Islam, Roman Catholicism, and Jehovah’s Witness. Can’t say I’m shocked by any of those.

The middle section was pretty bizarre. Jainism ranked higher than Secular Humanism. Taosim beat out Hinduism. Judaism, both Reformed and Orthodox, didn’t fare too well generally. But here’s the kicker, something that literally caused me to burst into laughter. On a list of 27 total, Scientology came in at number 18!!!! WTF?????? 😯 That’s ahead of Baha’i, Christian Science, Seventh Day Adventist, Eastern Orthodox, Mormons, and Conservative Protestants. Look, I have no problem accepting my lack of spiritual compatibility with Mormons, or any of those others, but how am I closer to Scientologists?? Granted, the percentage difference was small, but still!

Whatever, it’s just a silly online quiz and it’s fun. Right now I’m enjoying the strong presence of Neo-Paganism on my test results. I knew a girl once who was a Wiccan and I could barely have a conversation with her. Strange chick. But I guess I shouldn’t let one individual warp my perception. Besides, she wasn’t a high priestess like me 😉

The Magic Circle by John William Waterhouse:

14 thoughts on “Just Call Me a Neo-Pagan, Theravada Buddhist, Liberal Quaker

  1. Gavin says:

    I got Pagan and Buddhist in the top spots. But I’m a Celt with Japanese children, so it didn’t surprise me;)

  2. Fred says:

    Paganism is a good one for a nude model because many pagans like to practice their religion in the state they call “skyclad”.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      “Skyclad”. I like it! A fancy term for “nude” I presume? 😉

      Claudia

      • Fred says:

        Skyclad means ritual nudity. Wikipedia has an article on the word, accompanied by a great drawing of nude witches by Hans Baldung Grien. It seems to derive from a hindu term.

        • Gavin says:

          I don’t know about that, we Celts fought the Romans Skyclad well before we knew where India was. ‘Britain’ is from a Roman word meaning ‘The Painted People’ from our habit of attacking armoured Roman legions dressed only in tattoos and blue paint. The English and Welsh damn near beat them, they built a wall against the Scots, and didn’t even dare take on the Irish;)

  3. Uh, it told me I was a Hindu! And number 2 was orthodox Jew! Number 3 was Sikh! Apparently I’m kind of a hardass. What kind of a test is this anyway?

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel! I am cracking up! 😆 😆 That’s so funny. Just the thought of you in a sikh turban is hilarious.

      You’re not a hardass, btw.

      Thanks for sharing your test results!

      Claudia

  4. pengo says:

    I am 100% Secular Humanist. There are some facts that I simply do not need to take an online quiz to prove.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Saw this painting in the flesh last year, at the Waterhouse exhibition at the RA – she’s gorgeous in ‘real life’, as are all Waterhouse’s women.

  6. LK says:

    Mmm, interesting, we are both Theravadan Buddhist. Mine is followed closely with a strong dose of secular humanism…I wonder what all this means for me…

    Well, maybe I’ll see you at a Theravadan Buddhist temple one of these days!

    Hope you are doing well there in beautiful NY,

    *LK*

  7. Ken says:

    I’m an Orthodox Quaker. How will I explain this to the priest?!

Leave a Reply

