Sketching the Summer Away

And away it’s going! Can you believe it’s August 25th already? Wow. The summer just flew by. Adiós dear summer . . . it’s been real :waves:

I got a terrific jumpstart on vigorous art modeling last night when I posed at Spring Studio. What a great session! It was a packed house, with latecomers squeezing themselves into any available space they could find. And I was pleased with myself for being on my game posing-wise. It felt really good to be back on the platform 🙂

My friend Jordan Mejias monitored the session. His work has appeared on this blog several times and beautified Museworthy with their fluidity and elegant darks and lights. You can see his fabulous wash drawings in previous posts here here, and here.

Yesterday at Spring, Jordan spent much of the time doing pencil drawings, because even watercolorists have to practice drawing. Here are some of his sketches of me from last night:

This is some foreshortening to the max! Jordan is partial to that angle, preferring to sit at the extreme sides of the modeling platform:

Here’s that same reclined pose from a different position and from a different artist. Charles Johnson is a Spring Studio regular and creates these unique freestyle sketches done in dark pen. He draws with pure joy and uninhibited spirit:

Charles frequently does these portrait “montages” of the models. He once did one of me that had maybe 15 or 16 heads in variation. This is the one he did last night:

9 thoughts on “Sketching the Summer Away

  1. Jennifer says:

    Great stuff , especially as I could picture the scene! Wish I could have been there 🙂

    However, have just signed up to my local art college for their evening class again this year. It’s a teaching course, so the poses are very controlled, but it’s all good practice and I love the college.

    Glad your modelling year has kicked off in style!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      That is fantastic! I’m excited that you’re enrolled in the class. I hope to hear more about it, and maybe even see some drawings 🙂

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Brian says:

    As always, it’s a pleasure to see you in the artwork, Claudia.

    Sorry I’ve been out of touch – long, hot, hectic summer!

    Happy belated B-day (way overdue, I know).

    Be good.

    Brian

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      Thanks so much for checking in! I was just thinking about you yesterday 🙂

      Glad you’re doing well in spite of a crazy busy summer. And I appreciate the belated birthday wishes. You’re so sweet!

      Best to you, honey . . .

      Claudia

  3. Bee says:

    Lovely, lovely drawings.

    I’m looking forward to starting school next week myself- first class is Life Drawing once again! Browsing the images you posted makes me really miss drawing the human form!

  4. Stephen says:

    Jordan’s pencil sketches are beautiful. Your poses are so full of energy which he has captured – just as he captured your spirit in last years washes. And you sound busy and rested and perhaps still burnt from the beach – all is well in your corner of the world – all the best – Stephen

    • artmodel says:

      Stephen! So good to hear from you. Glad you enjoyed Jordan’s drawings.

      Yes, I am both rested and busy, which is a far better combination than tired and busy! Summer was great, hope yours was too, friend 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  5. Bruce Kocher says:

    Hi Claudia, I love the energy in your poses. They inspire me to pose similarly and hopefully with that same energy. As a male I can’t always copy those same poses and was wondering if you could direct me to a resource or two, where I might get some inspiration for different poses. I enjoy as well, taking pictures of how different artists and students interpret me. You are so fortunate to be working in the places you do and with the artists you do. Thanks for sharing these.
    Bruce

Leave a Reply

