Home Sweet Home, and Away Again . . .

My friends! Hello! I’m back! I really, really missed you – is that weird to say? Well I’m saying it anyway. After days of heat and humidity in Florida I return to more heat and humidity in New York. I came back with a pretty nice tan, and a sunburned ass. Yes, really. I got sunburned on my ass 😆

I’m home only for a week because I’m going away again on Sunday for a family vacation on Cape Cod. A lot of vacationing, right? I didn’t go away at all last summer so I guess I’m compensating for it this summer.

Apparently WordPress introduced some new blog features while I was gone. I logged on here and thought, “Hey, what’s all this?”. I’ll have to check them out. And I have a couple of art modeling jobs this week which is nice.

I will try to do some regular blogging this week if I can. By “regular” I mean posts that are actually about something. You know, posts that contain all the brilliance and wit and stunning beauty that my readers are accustomed to. Kidding! I kid. 😆

As I unpack from my Florida trip and do a huge load of wash, I will soon re-pack for the Cape. In that process I must make sure to place a note somewhere in my bags which will read the following: Dear Claudia, Remember, DO NOT lie on your stomach under the hot sun, like an oblivious dumb ditz, while writing lengthy emails on your Blackberry and losing track of time. You will burn your ass. Also, use sunblock with a higher number than 15. If not, you will burn your ass. Also, RE-APPLY after going in the water. If not, you will burn your ass. Sincerely, Claudia

While I’ll be resuming steady work in September with a fairly deep summer tan (hope the artists don’t mind), I doubt I could ever achieve the gorgeous color of Gauguin’s Tahitian women. This is And The Gold of Their Bodies, from 1901:

6 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home, and Away Again . . .

  1. Fred says:

    Welcome back. The sunburned ass sounds like a perfect opportunity for the figurative artist who has a lot of alizarin crimson on hand!

  2. Please don’t tell me your ass went all the way to alizarin, Claudia. That would be very painful. Glad you’re getting some vacation time!

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel and Fred,

      I am not familiar with alizarin crimson, but I’m sensing from your comments that it’s a pretty intense color! I think I can safely say that my ass burn was not quite in that range. In fact, I’m happy to report that it’s calmed down now and eased into a normal nice suntan tone 🙂 Daniel, you’ll be seeing it with your own eyes very soon!

      Thanks both of you for your comments.

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    Don’t know if you’re an Edward Gorey fan but, if you are, you might want to check this out:
    http://www.edwardgoreyhouse.org/
    A slightly different form of figurative art. . .

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Thanks for the link! I have just general knowledge of Gorey but you’ve inspired me to learn more.

      Great to hear from you.

      Claudia

      • Bill says:

        Oops, sorry — should have made that clearer. The Gorey House/Museum is on Cape Cod — that why I mentioned it. Good rainy day activity.

Leave a Reply

