Love and Affection

Well I had a crappy day. A lousy, crummy, shitty day. It started this morning with a serious blow on the professional front. I showed up to work only to discover that due to a booking error, two models were mistakenly assigned to the sculpture workshop. It is a small class, so only one model is needed. And since the other model arrived a few minutes before me, she got the job. I got bumped from a five day booking 😡 Totally sucks when that happens. Grrrr. I guess I should have caught the earlier train out of Queens. But hey, the art modeling profession is not without its glitches and messes, that’s for sure.

Then this afternoon I went through more disappointment, this time on the personal front. I won’t go into too much detail, but it was a breakup of sorts. This absolutely amazing guy and I decided to part ways romantically. Would you believe me if I said it was mutual? It was, I swear! Ok, maybe it was more 60/40, but close enough, with me being the 40 😦

But I must soldier on. Even though this particular Monday has battered me a bit, it’s still a “Music Monday” here on Museworthy. It’s a blessing because I could really use some music right now, and the one and only Joan Armatrading is just the person to provide it. I love this woman. Born in the West Indies and raised in Birmingham, England, Joan Armatrading is an acclaimed singer/songwriter, who is known for her distinctive, resonant voice and  pure, honest, deeply heartfelt vocal delivery. There is no one like Joan Armatrading. In the realm of current female performers she is the polar opposite of the current trash of Lady Gaga and that ilk. Just curious; are those crazed Gaga fans who call her “original” and a “genius” on drugs or just stupid?

The song that first brought Joan Armatrading to prominence was 1976’s “Love and Affection”. It is stunning in it’s sincerity and emotional power – a plea for love, a desire to feel and experience love, a willingness to surrender oneself completely to the joys of love. In this video from 2007, Joan performs her classic “Love and Affection” on the BBC program “Later with Jools Holland”, and she sounds even better than she did 30 years ago if that’s possible. These are stirring, goosebump inducing vocals. I’ve pasted the lyrics below. The poignant sentiment makes me think of the extraordinary guy I had to say goodbye to this afternoon, so I’d like to dedicate this to him 🙂

As for me, well, tomorrow is another day. Life goes on . . .

I am not in love
But I’m open to persuasion
East or West
Where’s the best
For romancing

With a friend
I can smile
But with a lover
I could roll my head back
I could really laugh
Really laugh

Thank you
You took me dancing
‘Cross the floor
Cheek to cheek
But with a lover
I could really move
Really move
I could really dance
Really dance
Really dance
Really dance
I could really move
Really move
Really move
Really move

Now if I can feel the sun
In my eyes
And the rain on my face
Why can’t I
Feel love ?

I can really love
Really love
Really love
Really love
Really love
Love love love love
Love love love love

Now I got all
The friends that I want
I may need more
But I shall just stick to those
That I have got
With friends I still feel
So insecure

Little darling I believe you could
Help me a lot
Just take my hand
And lead me where you will
No conversation
No wave goodnight
Just make love
With affection

Sing me another love song
But this time
With a little dedication
Sing it, sing it
You know that’s what I like
Once more with feeling
Give me love
Give me love
Give me love
Love…

{Sax solo….}

Make love with affection

Sing me another love song
But this time
With a little dedication
Sing it, sing it
You know that’s what I like

Once more with feeling
Sing me another love song
But this time
With a little dedication
Sing it, sing it
You know that’s what I like

With affection
With a little dedication
Once more with feeling
You know that’s what I like
Love…


13 thoughts on “Love and Affection

  1. Bill says:

    Bummer (except for the Joan Armatrading part). You guys need a union. Better still, you should come up here to Boston — we appreciate our models (and our women).

    Hang in there,
    Bill

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Bill!

      The union talk has been floating around the art modeling community here for years. But it never materializes – lack of organization, lack of will, etc. When and if it ever happens I will most likely be in retirement at that point!

      Give my love to Boston 🙂

      Claudia

  2. doug rogers says:

    😦

  3. Rupert says:

    Not to make lite of your otherwise crappy day but Man!……. If I were 10 years younger, lived in New York and were single, I guess this would be the day to call. luckily you never have to part ways with your more ethereal friends, admirers, or would be lovers here on the internet. And remember……

    • artmodel says:

      “luckily you never have to part ways with your more ethereal friends, admirers, or would be lovers here on the internet.”

      Rupert, that was wonderful to read, thanks! I was aware of the “friends and admirers”, but “would-be lovers”? Hmm . . . interesting 😉

      Thanks for the video too!

      Claudia

  4. Boo! What a crappy day! I’m really sorry… I hope you feel better soon, and hey – I’m still looking forward to working with you more!

    Hugs,

    Dani

  5. Lack of creativity or lack of money on the instructor’s part? Seems two models when one’s expected could be quite serendipitous.

    The sixty/ forty (two) breakup, I’m sure yo momma told you be careful of older (60) men! 🙂

    and the obligatory platitude (platitudes are things we know but absolutely don’t wanna hear right now) : The bad days make the good days all that much more enjoyable.

    Take care kiddo.

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I was wondering when you were going to weigh in on all this! I agree about the two models. Often when a booking screw-up happens, they will allow both to pose. Not this time unfortunately.

      Oh, and the guy I wrote about is most definitely NOT and older man. Not, not, not AT ALL. He’s younger than me. A lot younger 😉
      But if I see the term “cougar” appear anywhere on this blog, I swear there will be hell to pay!!!! Don’t even think about it! That goes for everyone! 😆

      Great to hear from you as always, JIm. And I appreciate the platitudes. I really do.

      Claudia

  6. Jennifer says:

    Adding my sympathies to the others for the downturn that your feeling of contentment suddenly took – life, eh?!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Yeah, the timing wasn’t the greatest. Messed up my “happy state”, dammit! But I try to look at this way: I can handle the setbacks better because I am coming from a stronger place initially. My contentment acts as a buffer. The disappointments would feel much harsher otherwise. How’s that for putting a positive spin on things? Impressive! 😆

      Claudia

  7. Jennifer says:

    Absolutely – keep feeling strong and enjoying your busy (but hopefully no more double-booked) summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

