42

So I’ve begun the warm, sunny July morning of my 42nd year with profound feelings of serenity, contentment, and thankfulness. Throw in some fresh squeezed orange juice, a granola bar, listening to NPR, and feeding my feral cats, both of whom refuse to acknowledge my birthday! Little punks! 😆  Now I’m  just stopping in to my blog to say hello to all of you before I log off to paint my toenails. I’m going out tonight and this is sandal season- must have pretty toes!

The rough patches of my early twenties and then my mid- thirties have led me to the surprising “payoff” of my forties. I never, ever would have predicted it! That I would be happiest and most-fulfilled at this age – after a divorce, my father’s sudden death, and several career changes – still confounds me. Forties? Really? My life experiences have left me not cynical, bitter, or pessimistic, but miraculously at peace. But how? Why? I recognize that art modeling deserves much of the credit, but it doesn’t explain everything. You know what? It doesn’t matter. For whatever reason, this has been my trajectory, my winding path, and it has steered me into a pretty fine place. I hope it lasts 🙂

Gustave Courbet’s Woman With a Parrot, 1866:

Love to everyone, and I’ll see you on the weekend!

Claudia 🙂

20 thoughts on “42

  1. DaveL says:

    Happy Birthday! Many of my favorite models have been in their 40s. It’s a great decade, especially for women. I hope it continues to bring you peace and harmony that will last the rest of your life.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Have a great painted-toenail evening out! May the lovely sentiments expressed here long continue for you …

    Jennifer

  3. LK says:

    I don’t think anything compares to having a birthday replete with a set of freshly painted toenails!

    Hope your incoming year becomes the best

    Happy Birthday!!!!!

    *LK*

  4. Ron says:

    Unlike the cats, I will acknowledge your birthday and wish you a happy one! And don’t forget that 42 is the answer to Life, the Universe and Everything. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phrases_from_The_Hitchhiker%27s_Guide_to_the_Galaxy

  5. hey girly, hope your day was wonderful.

    *wavie*

  6. Mark says:

    Hope you had a great birthday. Youth isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, but then again, neither is age. What you make of your life is what counts. You seem to be doing that well.

  7. Bee says:

    As Ron said, 42 is most definitely the answer to Life, The Universe, and Everything~!

    Happy birthday. I’m looking forward to being serene, happy, and at peace when I arrive at that age. Or unless I get to nirvana and one-ness before then ;D

  8. pevaeva says:

    Happy Birthday!

  9. artmodel says:

    To everyone-

    Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments and birthday wishes!!!!!

    🙂

    Claudia

  10. Jeff says:

    Hey, Happy Answer-to-Life-the-Universe-and-Everything Birthday!

  11. Bruce says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, and I hope the universe continues to cooperate with you!
    Are you doing Cynthia’s marathon at NYAA?

  12. Gavin says:

    Happy birthday. I actually learned to paint toenails in my 42nd year, the consequence of ending up a full time single dad to two daughters;) I’ve had to learn all sorts of stuff!

    • artmodel says:

      Gavin,

      That is so adorable about you and your daughters! You’re a wonderful dad. My father never painted my toenails!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  13. Dave Rudin says:

    I’m glad you had a happy 42nd birthday, Claudia, and that you’re feeling good about yourself.

    Just one thing, though. If it was your 42nd birthday, then you have actually begun your 43rd year! LOL

    All the best,

    Dave

  14. Hi! Sorry I’m late to the party – have a wonderful year Claudia! It’s been such a pleasure getting to know you, and I hope you continue enjoying so much of what you do. Thank you for sharing your wonderful self with the rest of us, and happy birthday!

    Dani

  15. Andrew says:

    Having been 42 for half a year, I have not yet found the answer to life, the universe, and everything. Maybe it takes the full year to figure it out. I hope I don’t forget the question by then.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      I didn’t know we were the same age. I like it! I’ll be sure to let you know if i figure out those elusive answers to the “question”. But don’t hold your breath!

      Thanks for your comment.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

