Posing, Learning, Blogging

Helloooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have returned!!!!!! Did y’all miss me? And did I just say “y’all“???? Oh man, that ain’t right 😆

It’s good to be back. I missed posting on my blog! After a strenuous week of work I’m happy to report that I am free of nerve damage, muscle injury, or any other variation of art modeling physical trauma. Oh sure, I limped my way out of the New York Academy of Art the other night, and  very slowly made my way over to the Franklin Street subway. But once I got home, climbed into bed and sprawled out, the restful healing began. It’s amazing how well the body can bounce back after so much exertion. Long term effects I’m not so sure, but I prefer not to think about that!

The summer sessions at the New York Academy of Art consist of continuing education classes, which I really enjoy posing for. They’re very different from MFA classes. The students are somewhat friendlier and warmer toward the models, based on my experience. They learn a great deal and are demonstrably appreciative of the instructors’ guidance and the model’s hard work.

I’ve been enjoying my incidental observer’s role very much, a terrific perk of being an art model – free art education! Shauna Finn who is teaching the afternoon class, spent some time talking to the students about great painters like Vermeer and Velasquez. Cool. And John Wellington, who is teaching the night class, discussed the works and technique of Prud’hon. Cool again! Lectures, demos, plenty of painting, drawing, practicing, and, of course, a hell of a lot of art modeling. Summer in the city 🙂

This chalkboard diagram is neater and clearer than anything I ever saw in school. The instructor wanted to illustrate the nuances of light and shadow, a critical issue for artists which involves subtleties of tones and values. “Reflected light” is much different from “direct light”, cast shadows different from core shadows, etc. Understanding these gradations, and painting them with accuracy, imbues artwork with beautiful depth and realism. In the night class, my leg is the source of this issue, as John Wellington and his monitor set the lights in such a way that a dramatic shadow runs down my mid thigh, over the knee, and down the lower leg, turning gently around the three-dimensional form.

I have no photo of myself posing, sorry about that. I have done it before much to everyone’s enjoyment.  I’ll ask a student to snap a picture next week. In the meantime, I can offer a picture of the empty stool on the modeling platform! Isn’t that exciting? It’s the setup for my afternoon class. That canvas is the beginning of a student’s work. Looks like she’s off to a fine start of a figure painting:

Did I mention that I also did a session at Spring Studio this week? I love working there. I’m also working Saturday at the National Academy. Love working there too! Most of all I love blogging on Museworthy!!!!!!!!!

Hope everyone is well. See you soon! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Posing, Learning, Blogging

  1. Nice post, Claudia. I followed your link to John’s site, viewed his works with the blackboard above in mind, very cool!

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    I’m hoping to sign up for a figure drawing class at the NY Academy of Art once I can get caught up somewhat with my backlog of photography work. I once signed up for a class at the Educational Alliance on the Lower East Side, but they didn’t have enough people so the class was cancelled.

    I have attended some open figure drawing sessions over the years – one of the models I’ve photographed is a very good artist herself and she said my drawings remind her of Matisse…LOL…which isn’t bad considering I’m barely above the stick figure level – but I would like to get some instruction to find out what I should really be doing. Maybe one day.

    For the time being, I’ll just try to support the school by going to its annual Take Home a Nude auction (I bought a couple of drawings last year) and such.

    Oh, I’ve added your blog to the blog list on mine: http://figuresofgrace.blogspot.com/

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      I hope you take a class! Please, please, please??? That would be so great. And it would be even greater if I’m the model for your class!!! The NYAA is an excellent school as you already know.

      Thanks for commenting, and thanks also for the blogroll link. I’m honored! 🙂

      Claudia

  3. Ilene Skeen says:

    When, when, when at Spring Studio?

Leave a Reply

