Father Portraits

My darling, dearest readers! Hi everyone. Ok, so here’s the deal. I have three consecutive insanely jam-packed days of art modeling, beginning on Monday. By jam-packed I mean a triple, a double, then another triple. Whoa. That’s sick! But I’m up for it, I think 😕 Hopefully I’ll get through it just fine. Or I might end up in traction on Thursday. Either way, gotta make a living. Bring the pain, baby!!

This is of course Father’s Day weekend, and on Sunday I’m going to the cemetery to visit my dad 😥 It will be a tough day emotionally. Looking ahead, it doesn’t seem likely that I’ll be able to post on the blog for a few days, as I won’t have time to prepare anything decent and I’ll be too tired to focus. So no “Music Monday” this week, unfortunately. If it’s alright with everyone, I’m going to take a brief blogging hiatus. But I’m still here! Feel free to email away and comment away. I’m always happy to hear from my awesome readers.

I can offer a little art to commemorate the occasion. Two portraits from two very different artists. They are Rembrandt and Courbet and their respective fathers.

This is Rembrandt’s portrait of his father from 1631. The entire character of this man, and his years of accumulated life experience, can be seen just in those forehead lines, painted with precision and sensitivity like only the great Rembrandt can:

Courbet’s portrait of his father, year 1840. The father’s name was Regis, but I don’t believe he ever co-hosted a TV talk show with Kelly Ripa 😆 Wonderful painting with a Napoleon-like hand gesture in the vest:

To all the dads, Happy Father’s Day you good men! Love, hugs, and kisses . . .

See you all later in the week.
Claudia
🙂

4 thoughts on “Father Portraits

  1. LK says:

    Claudia,

    The hand tuck done by a person who is not actually Napolean looks maybe like the precursor to Al Bundy’s on-the-couch pants tuck maybe. That Rembrandt is astounding though, a truly incredible image.

    Your poetry is so fresh and alive btw, been wanting to comment on that for a while now. What a delightful read.

    Hope you didn’t think I’ve ever missed a post, because that simply couldn’t happen. But I am thinking of petitioning your other readers to get you to write a book…eh hum (you know how I feel about that, no?)…anyways, hope you didn’t end up in traction!

    LK

    • artmodel says:

      LK!!!!! Such a treat to hear from you, friend! 🙂

      Of course I know you’ve been reading, as I have your blog, regularly as always, which is why I can say that your poetry puts mine to shame 😮 Though I appreciate your praise more than you know.

      Yes, I’m aware of your book mission. I won’t discourage it, but a petition drive would be something to see!

      And no, I’m not in traction. Sore yes, but traction no 😆

      Thanks so much for commenting!!!

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    Lovely portraits and a good tribute to your father.

    Hope your week went well and wasn’t too tiring …

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Jennifer! Glad you liked the portraits. My week was ok, all things considered. Next week will be a little rough too, but not quite as bad.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

