An Afternoon

Sunny, sunny, balmy and blue
Wraparound skirt,
Slurping a lemonade and nibbling on cashews
Forgot my sunglasses
Fountains in the circle, gushing up and splashing down
Water gods in midtown
Nymphs laughing, dancing under the statues
Pigeon wings flapping

Ooooh . . . hello you!
I’ve missed you 😉
“Sssh!!” . . . giggle giggle
Don’t make a sound
I see you smiling, you bad boy . . .
Furtive delights
“Sssh!”
Don’t worry baby . . . they can’t hear us

Winks and glances and whistles
Pedicabs rolling and swerving
The circle is alive
With afternoons and hours and interludes,
Of people dreaming, desiring, pursuing, and playing
Our great big sexy city
Blows tickling breezes under my skirt
I flutter from the air,
And from him . . .


Forward Bent Female Nude by Egon Schiele

14 thoughts on “An Afternoon

  1. This poem made me miss New York and I haven’t even left yet.

  2. KL Foster says:

    Every line of that managed to place a picture in my mind. A sensual song of life. He is a damn lucky man.

  3. Damnit Claudia, how many times do I have to tell you, never trust a man under 95! 🙂

    ‘cept me, of course, I’m just a nice harmless friendly older gentleman, little girl. 😉

    Don’t forget to tell your bo that if he really really cares, he’ll build/buy you a garden like the one you posted here February 3, 2010 at 7:40 pm!

    Glad to hear you waxing lyrical and posting another grand picture.

    By the way; do you think she’s wearing the shoe on the right? I can’t quite visualize how her leg could bend that way.

    • artmodel says:

      JIm,

      I believe you’re a “friendly, older gentleman”, but are you sure about the “harmless”? 😆

      I have no idea what’s going on with the shoe/leg situation in the drawing. That model is even more flexible than I am! 😉

      Thanks for your fun comments, Jim.

      Claudia

  4. Stephanie says:

    The poem is lovely, full of wonderful images of New York and Claudia; you and I are clearly due for a chat.

    Love,
    Steph

  5. Kat says:

    Loved the poem 🙂

  6. Jennifer says:

    Weird – my daughter’s email address has got into here! Cyberspace, go figure …

    Jennifer

  7. Jennifer says:

    And now it’s disappeared – anyway, loved the poem!

Leave a Reply

