News and Notes

Helloo, helloooooo!!! Did everyone have a good week? Mine was good. I’m back to steady art modeling work finally. Well, “steady” is a relative term. Summer is a much slower time of year. But I’ve booked a few jobs that will keep me working enough until the wasteland that is August. And that’s when I’ll be going down to Miami to visit my friend Stephanie. Can’t wait to see her!!

Summertime has never been defined by manic, compulsive work anyway. Instead, it offers a seemingly endless stream of enjoyments, amusements, and activities, some cultural and highbrow, others just plain fun and recreational. One of the best, longstanding summer traditions here in NYC is the New York Philharmonic’s free concerts in the parks series. My father used to take us every year to the Queens concert at Cunningham Park. A wonderful way to spend a summer night, listening to symphonies under the stars. Great memories πŸ™‚

Throughout the month of July, the Lincoln Center Festival will be offering a huge array of music, dance, and theater performances from all over the world. But it doesn’t end there. Lincoln Center keeps right on going into August with its free Out of Doors performances.

The New York Academy of Art, where I work, is currently showing it’s Summer Exhibition, on view until July 31st. I caught just a quick glimpse of it the other night when I was there for modeling, but I’m going to view it more closely next week. What I saw looked terrific! Another show I’d like to see is “Defining Beauty”, drawings of Albrecht Durer at the Morgan Library. Looks like a very “museworthy” show.

But it’s the one and only Pablo Picasso who is dominating New York art shows this summer. The Spanish master has taken over both the Museum of Modern Art and the Met. What an egomaniac! πŸ˜† The MoMA show, “Themes and Variations”, features Picasso’s printmaking and examines his creative process. “Picasso in the Metropolitan Museum” complies all the museum’s Picassos in one show. I saw it already. Loved it. Will devote a blog post to it in a few weeks. They let us take pictures! Yay!

The Met has even more to offer this summer than Picasso. The much buzzed about “Big Bambu” installation on The Roof Garden is a must see. Constructed by brothers Doug and Mike Starn, “Big Bambu” is an elaborate assemblage of bamboo stalks, lashed together with nylon rope. Fred and I went up there after the Picasso show and we were both amazed by it. What I found most fascinating is that while the construction is very intricate and convoluted, especially when viewed up close, Β it is not dizzying to the eye. It’s actually quite tranquil and zen-like in its aura. It’s also great to photograph, and I posted some of my pictures in a set on Flickr. This is one of my favorites:

“Big Bambu” is an ongoing work-in-progress, and will be at The Met well into October.

Hope everyone is doing well. See you soon!

7 thoughts on “News and Notes

  1. Stephanie says:

    You know, my parents took us to the Queens concert in Cunningham Park, too! I seem to remember hearing the 1812 Overture one year.

    Loved the pictures of Big Bambu, especially the view of the park. Amazing! I’m so looking forward to August!

    Love,
    Steph

    • artmodel says:

      Steph,

      The Cunningham concerts were really wonderful. And your memory is spot on. The Philharmonic often concluded with a rousing rendition of the 1812 Overture – a perennial crowd-pleaser.

      I’m looking forward to August too! We’re going to have a great time πŸ™‚

      Talk to you soon,
      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    Have just called my husband over to have a look at your Flickr stream, as I knew he would love the sight of NY skyscrapers viewed over the tops of bamboo! It’s at times like this when ‘modern art’ works so well; here’s hoping that next stop for the bambumeisters will be London (hmm, looking at that word again, maybe it’s not worked so well!). Sounds like you have a most enjoyable ‘summer in the city’ ahead …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I HOPE the Starn brothers take their bambu installation to other cities. That would be fabulous! I didn’t even think of it until you mentioned it.

      I’m happy you and hubby enjoyed the Flickr set. The bambu was fun and easy to photograph. I’m definitely going back for another view and hopefully some evening shots when the lights are on.

      Great to hear from you Jennifer!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    Will look forward to seeing them … πŸ™‚

  4. Gavin says:

    Not a terrific week for me in Cumbria in the UK. However, the best response to destruction is creation.

Leave a Reply

