Stormy (Under the) Weather

Hi everyone. I’m sorry to report that I’m sick with the flu 😥  My nemesis. This is like an annual ritual with me. Luckily, this bout is not quite as bad as previous ones. My fever was up to 101.9 but it’s already down to 99.6. My body is riddled with aches and pains, which is the worst thing to deal with. Everything hurts. Even my eyelids hurt when I blink. I didn’t know it was possible for eyelids to hurt. I have no appetite, and all I do is sleep. Plus, I’m gross. Haven’t showered or brushed my hair, and I’m sweating into all my t-shirts.

But it’s still “Music Monday”! And as weak as I am I can still embed a video. We lost the great Lena Horne last week. Singer, actress, dancer, civl rights activist. Not to mention a stunningly beautiful woman. Stormy Weather is close enough to “Under the Weather” which would be my song :sob: You definitely don’t want to hear me singing right now – nothing but moans, and groans, and wails. Not pleasant. Let’s listen to Lena instead. RIP.

PS- To everyone who emailed me over the weekend, thank you! I read them all and will write back as soon as I’m feeling better 🙂

6 thoughts on “Stormy (Under the) Weather

  1. A drummer that I work with every week played with her in the early 70s. He said she was amazing to work with. One time the conductor started a tune at the wrong tempo — too fast — and she was able to slow it down herself when she had a two bar break early in the song. My friend said he had never seen seomthing like that executed so flawlessly. — The audience never knew.

  2. Andrew says:

    Hope you feel better soon. 😦

  3. Jennifer says:

    Only you could write a witty post when feeling so unwell! Sorry to hear that you are suffering so much with the flu – always awful, but even worse at this time of year. Do hope you will feel better soon and shall now listen to Lena Horne in sympathy…

    All best wishes for a speedy recovery

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Your sweet comments were so comforting 🙂 Flu just comes on so suddenly. You feel perfectly fine and then two hours later you can barely move and your temperature has shot up. I’ve heard that a spring flu blast has been going around.

      So I suffered for 48 straight hours, without taking any Tamiflu, aspirin. etc. I beat the fever, and my body temp is now back to normal. Just have to get my strength and vigor back. I haven’t eaten much because of no appetite, so a good substantial meal is in order.

      Thanks Jennifer! Hope you enjoyed Lena.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

