Sing Along With Pete

Greetings! I’m back in weekday mode after a truly fabulous Friday – Sunday. But Mondays aren’t so bad when you have “Music Monday”! 🙂 Let’s do it.

Even though I had virtually no time to prepare a blog post for today, YouTube came to my rescue with a real gem. I guess since I am still in the activist mindset from the Peace March yesterday – see the pictures on my Flickr – I gravitated toward music with a voice of conscience, a voice of purity and humanity. Who better to fill that role than the iconic folk singer, peace advocate, civil rights champion, and environmental activist Pete Seeger.

In this amazing video, Pete appears as a guest on “The Johnny Cash Show”, which aired on ABC from 1969 – 1971. The two men were good friends, and their opening discussion about the banjo is a delight. But the best part is when Pete performs the folk classic “Worried Man Blues” and is soon joined by Johnny Cash at 5:14 – two legends together onstage, in an era before the evils of auto-tune, MTV, and bondage-themed music videos. In true Pete Seeger style, he gets the audience to join in. It’s a great moment in music and television and I hope it will uplift you as it did me 🙂