“70 Million”

Welcome all! This is “Music Monday” for April 5 🙂

Today’s post comes courtesy of my friend Lisa who sent this priceless video. The band “Hold Your Horses” (who I confess I’d never heard of before) takes us on a humorous, entertaining tour of Western art history. The band members recreated and hilariously inserted themselves into some classic works of art, and it’s really funny!! Cheerful, lighthearted, but also very clever, this video will bring a smile to your face.

The fun is in identifying the paintings, some of which are obvious, like da Vinci’s The Last Supper at the very beginning. I did pretty well overall and recognized most of them, but a couple of them had me stumped. Now don’t want to ruin it all for you, but I’ll just give you a little heads up: look for Delacroix, Vermeer, Munch, Warhol, Klimt, Caravaggio, Mondrian, Magritte, and a Manet’s Olympia at 1:59 that nearly had me rolling on floor laughing 😆

So here is 70 Million by “Hold Your Horses”. I love these guys!

If you want to check your “score”, you can see the entire cheat sheet at this link.

6 thoughts on ““70 Million”

  1. Andrew says:

    This is really creative and hilarious. I like the music too.

    Like you, I hadn’t heard of Hold Your Horses until I saw this this video, which has been making the rounds on Twitter and Facebook. Very effective viral marketing.

    It reminds of MTV in the 1980’s when a lot of creativity went into producing music videos.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      Yes, videos were more creative in the 80s. I remember them well!

      While people like you and me hadn’t heard of this group before, I’m sure many will now due to the release of this video. I say they deserve it 🙂

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    This is hilarious! 🙂

  3. Funny!

    & of course I checked out some of the related videos and found a whole new, to me, genre of Indian music videos such as the one roughly, very very roughly, transliterated, -not translated, as “May he poop on my knee” .

  4. Mark Waikien says:

    Well that put a smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

