Hendrix Unplugged

Welcome all! This is “Music Monday” for March 15th πŸ™‚

There are some questions for which there is only one right answer. Who was the first president of the United States? George Washington. Who won the World Series in 1969? The New York Mets. What is the capital of Iceland? Reykjavik. And, who was the greatest rock guitarist of all time? Jimi Hendrix. Yes, that is the one and only right answer to that question.

I remember the first time I ever heard Jimi Hendrix’s guitar playing. I was maybe 13 or 14, listening to New York’s legendary old rock station WNEW 102.7 FM. These wonderful, interesting guitar sounds were piping across the airwaves. They weren’t loud, fast, or frantic, with no feedback or dissonance. Rather, they were sweet and melodic, like an angel was playing them. And the lyrics were really strange! Something about clowns and brooms and traffic lights. What is this song?, I wondered. And I had to know who that gifted musician was. So when the quirky, bluesy, psychedelic little rock song ended, the disc jockey Scott Muni announced to his listeners, “And that was Seattle’s native son, Jimi Hendrix, When the Wind Cries Mary.” I was, from that moment on, a die-hard Hendrix fan. One of legions.

Here’s a little gem from YouTube. Footage of Jimi Hendrix, the left-handed gypsy poet, playing an acoustic 12-string version of the blues classic Hear My Train A Comin’. I love the close-ups of his magic hands. His fingers are beautiful. I can’t tell if that’s a Gibson or a custom made job. Either way it is one fine instrument. By the way, has anyone ever looked better in a fedora than Jimi? I don’t think so πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Hendrix Unplugged

  1. KL Foster says:

    Claudia Claudia you have made my day…may the gods bless you. There is nothing quite like the sound of a twelve string guitar and in his hands…the clouds should part in the skies.

  2. Jennifer says:

    There must be something in the air, as I heard a radio programme the other night, about how Hendrix came to write ‘The Wind Cries Mary’!

    On a more personal note, I’ve been meaning to write about this for some time, but work’s got in the way – anyway, my family and I are coming to New York just after Easter. (This will be the first trip to the States for three of us!) I thought it would be great to do a life-drawing session at the Spring Studios on a Monday – am I right in assuming it’s a case of turn up and pay (or is it more selective than that?) I do wonder, though, if it will be open on the Monday following Easter that we will be there – the 12th April? If you wouldn’t mind letting me know, that would be great – feel free to use my personal email rather than ‘Museworthy’, if you prefer.
    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      How wonderful that you and your family are coming to New York!!! I’m excited for you! πŸ™‚

      Going to a life drawing session at Spring Studio is a terrific idea. I will email you over the weekend with all the details/info you need to know. Finishing up a long painting class this week and am a little worn out, which is why I haven’t put up a new post. But Friday is my last day, and I’ll be back blogging and emailing you with that info. Yay!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    If you could keep the spring weather in NY that would be great πŸ™‚

    Fred has emailed me some details about Spring Studios – seems mainly to be a case of being able to get there for 9am, so I need to check out where we’re staying vis-a-vis the Studios and hope it’s near enough. Looks like I could find myself commuting with New Yorkers!! Just have to hope that British Airways (our carrier) sort out their industrial dispute before 6 April!!

  4. Bruce says:

    I remeber hearing Hendrix the first time, and almost being expelled for progamming a 1 hour segment of his music. It was a rather red-neck school, but ‘The Wind Cried Mary’ blew me completely away…

  5. Derek says:

    You know I have fond memories of Jimi Hendrix going back to 1966 and 1969. I still miss the old bloke. I was fortunate to see him live he was a great talent who left us way too soon.I saw that clip and it gives me tears to me eyes. I saw the documentary on the man especially the acoustic version of “Hear My train a Comin'” I remember my children asked me why I was crying. I said to them “I saw this man live and he was the best player of my generation”. some of my contemporaries have died so soon. But the memories remain. Watching Jimi on film is like going back to my college days.

    Derek
    Brisbane, Australia

Leave a Reply

