Two-Faced Claudia

Before I go any further, let me just state for the record that I am in no way a two-faced person. Like, not at all! I’m genuine through and through 🙂 And I definitely have nothing in common with the fictional Two-Face character from the DC comics “Batman” series. Poor Harvey Dent became disfigured after having acid thrown in his face. Ewww.

However, when one is an artist’s model, you have the consistently fascinating experience of seeing all “sides” of yourself – figure and face and spirit – interpreted through artists’ eyes. Diverse artists’ eyes. Multifarious artists’ eyes. Honestly, it never gets old. It never gets boring. This occurrence of the same model divergently represented, yet similarly “present” in all the creations. Reminds us how complex and enigmatic we really are, doesn’t it?

I have two profile drawings of myself- one left side and one right side- created by two radically different artists. What intrigues me here is that somehow, incredibly, they BOTH look like me. How is that possible? Well, I can’t explain it. All I can say is that when the act of artistic creation is at play, anything is possible.

Daniel Maidman is a friend who has drawn me many times at Minerva Durham’s Spring Studio. On this particular night, I was sitting sideways in a chair with my legs slung over. I was feeling good and spry, having a strong modeling session. For the long pose I was focused and alert, staring intently at a spot on the wall. Here is how Daniel saw me that night:

And this is Fred Hatt’s depiction of me from Figureworks Gallery. Again I was sitting, but this time on the floor, in close proximity to Fred. Just a few feet away. Whoa! What’s going on here? Is this the same woman as above? Absolutely yes 🙂

Two completely different styles, techniques, and mediums. Two completely different visions. And yet I see myself quite accurately in both of them. Daniel did an amazing job of not only drawing my profile, but capturing my overall countenance, and the “active” stillness of the long pose. Fred had a much shorter pose to work with and, with his trademark style and fast hand, quickly gleaned my likeness by emphasizing prominent facial features, particularly my large eyes. A very Armenian girl!

12 thoughts on “Two-Faced Claudia

  1. Two strking photos — and strikingly different. In the first you look serene and pensive. IN the second there is a feeling of sadness.

  2. Oops…I meant drawings, obviously!

    • artmodel says:

      Keith,

      Well they are photos of drawings, so sounds ok to me 🙂

      I think the reason Fred’s drawing has a feeling of sadness, as you noted, is because of the accentuated eyes. Large eyes often tend to look sad, so when exaggerated somewhat like Fred did here, they look even sadder.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  3. Hi everybody – this is Daniel – I drew the first drawing above. I love Fred’s drawing! I agree, it’s just like you. It’s really fun looking at the two versions beside one another. Thanks for including me – I have such a great time whenever you’re at Spring, and I’m honored to be on your blog.

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel!!!!

      The honor is all mine. That is a very Museworthy drawing you created, and it deserves a spot on this blog.

      I’m glad you liked seeing the two profiles in my little “compare and contrast” experiment.

      Thanks for your comments, and thanks especially for the drawing!

      Claudia

  4. Rog says:

    It is not so bad to be a two faced son of a bitch…. I am one, and I think I am OK… I just wish every Gemini would realize their plight.

    • artmodel says:

      Rog,

      So you are a Gemini, my friend? Very interesting. But I don’t care what you call yourself, I will never think of you as a “son-of-a-bitch”. No sons-of-bitches read this blog!! 😆

      I am a Cancer and we are the “anti” two-facers. Loyal and genuine 🙂

      Claudia

  5. Shucky darn, as a Libra I’ve no problem balancing both faces. 🙂

    Speaking of which I didn’t see sadness in Fred’s (though I can see what Keith mean after reading his comment).

    Daniel’s is easier to look at and take in in a relaxed viewing while Fred’s unique style is like a bunch of arrows or spotlights saying “look at this feature! Now this one… and this one..!!.”

    & being a Libra, I enjoy both renderings! 🙂

    && Thought seen by 2 “Multifarious artists’ eyes”, I think I’d have no problem recognizing you from either portrait.

    BTW: You sent me off to the dictionary with Multifarious. For some reason the only definition I remembered is the legal one; two items improperly joined and presented in one bill. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      JIm,

      Great observations, as always. And you are now one of MANY Libra men I’ve known in my life – my brother and my ex-husband to name two significant ones! 😆 I’d say you guys are alright in my book.

      I think “multifarious” was my attempt to avoid using “multiple”, which I don’t like the sound of. There’s also “multitudinous”, but that’s sounds kind of silly.

      Claudia

  6. fred says:

    They do make an interesting comparison partly because of what they have in common – both profiles, both drawn with light and dark on a warm mid-tone paper, both at a similar scale of head to body to paper. The similarities highlight the differences.

    A great example of the value of looking at figurative art from the model’s perspective!

    • artmodel says:

      See, Fred, this is why you’re so smart. I didn’t even notice the similarly toned paper! Glad you pointed that out. You notice everything 🙂

      And yes, the model’s point-of-view largely inspired this blog entry. Like I wrote in the post, we models really enjoy seeing all versions of ourselves.

      Claudia

  7. Hey, let’s have a shout out for us virgins too! I mean, uh, .virgos.

Leave a Reply

