Somnolence

I have been waking up in the mornings feeling soooo groggy. Totally out of it. I’m sleeping just fine. Maybe too fine, because I can’t seem to fully wake up, even during the course of the day. A good shower normally perks me up, but it’s not doing it these days. Multiple cups of coffee have a temporary effect, but then I crash from that. At FIT yesterday, I was practically falling asleep on the platform! WTF is going on??? Maybe I need to start drinking Red Bull or something. Do you know what it’s like to walk around midtown Manhattan, crossing streets and intersections, feeling half-awake and not fully alert? That’s some dangerous stuff right there. I might get hit by a bus!

This painting depicts it perfectly. From Hungarian artist Karoly Brocky, it’s called Sleeping Bacchante:

I better get my shit together because next week I’m starting Sharon Sprung’s morning painting class at the National Academy. I sure don’t want to be a drowsy idiot for them. Maybe I’ll ask one of the students to give me a good, hard slap in the face when I arrive. That should do it! 😆

12 thoughts on “Somnolence

  1. KL Foster says:

    NOT THE FACE! That is what the behind is for. Did I really say that? lmfao!

    • artmodel says:

      KL, 😆 !!!!

      Yes you did say it! And I don’t mind a little butt slap, but I think the face slap will have a better waking up effect 😉

      Claudia

  2. I’ve been feeling like that too.. maybe it has something to do with the beginning of the change of season?

    • artmodel says:

      learning2live,

      That’s a definite possibility. I am rather sensitive to seasonal changes, weather conditions, etc. But I will tolerate a groggy state if it means that spring is on the way!

      Thanks for your comment.

      Claudia

  3. Ron says:

    That reminds me of the scene from countless movies. Someone is going hysterical and someone else slaps him in the face. the other immediately snaps out of it and says “Thanks, I needed that.” The only variation is in “The Producers” where Max throws a glass of water into Leo’s face to calm him. Leo responds that he’s hysterical…and he’s wet.

  4. Two face slaps, one on each side, -for that fresh, rosy cheeked, look!

    Although looking at Bacchante’s cheek, maybe it didn’t work for Brocky and he had to make the most of the resulting pose…

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      She does look like she got a little cheek slap, doesn’t she? And still, she slumbers away. I think her snooze affliction is worse than mine!

      Claudia

  5. Kim says:

    I’ve been feeling the same way for months. It’s really bad sometimes, to the point of not being able to drive. As long as I have nothing else to do, I go ahead and sleep it off. Are you on any medications? (You can email me privately.) I am – nothing that should make me feel this way – and if you are, I’d like to compare notes. Just in case…

    • artmodel says:

      Kim,

      Thanks for your comments. No, I do not take any medications. But I hear what you’re saying about having difficulty functioning. Today I am feeling a lot better! What was odd to me was the feeling of needing actual SLEEP. Ordinary tiredness is different, and we’ve all experienced it This wasn’t tiredness, though. It was bordering on narcolepsy!

      Feel free to email me if you’d like to discuss further. Have you been to the doctor?

      Claudia

  6. LK says:

    Sometimes the glucose metabolizing and transference from what we eat will cause the same effect as having a glass of beer; be careful with sugars too. But we’re both the same age, so maybe I’m experiencing whatever you’re experiencing; I just happen to not have to be in the middle of NY traffic. Good lord, be careful out there!

    Hope you’re feeling better, or that you figure out what’s going on.

    *LK*

    (The painting in this post is incredible, btw, the hair looks real. And also, the one up there of you, where your name has a roman numeral, that’s um…really genuine…you don’t get tired of compliments on your beauty do you?)

    • artmodel says:

      LK,

      Thanks for your comments and your concern, sweetie! I am feeling better, and the sleepy syndrome has passed. I have no clue what caused it. There was nothing changed in my diet, habits, etc. I’m just glad it’s gone! Now I hope you feel better soon, friend.

      As to whether I get tired of compliments on my “beauty” (yes, I put beauty in quotes), the answer is . . um. . . no, I don’t 🙂

      So wonderful to hear from you! Thanks again.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

