Introducing Music Mondays

Helloo, helloooo!! How is everyone? I’m just fine and dandy. Slept late because I attended the Spring Studio 18th Anniversary Party last night and imbibed a little red vino. I had a great time, as always, socializing with my artist friends, fellow models, all wonderful people with whom I share both personal and professional relationships. And congratulations to Minerva Durham for 18 awesome years, providing a place for life drawing to New Yorkers seven days a week. I often wonder what many of us would do without Minerva and her steadfast drawing studio. I think we’d be sad 😥

Now on to other business. I’d like to introduce a new blog feature that I’m calling “Music Mondays”. I was going to call it “Museworthy Music Mondays” but that might trigger an alliteration OD. I think two M’s are enough! So Music Mondays will be just what they describe; every Monday I will put up a post with a music theme and an image of music in art, of which there are so many to choose from. Topics will vary from instruments, music genres, famous figures, and my commentary will include personal stories, music history, or just discussion of a painting or drawing with a musical subject. Good idea, everyone? I hope you like it.

Just as a world without art would be a miserable place, a world without music would be equally miserable. Could you imagine? A world without art OR music? Ugh. That sounds truly awful. Dreary, uninspired, boring as all hell. Also, some of you might remember that my father was a musician, and my brother is a composer. So music is, and always has been, a significant presence in my life, both as an appreciator and participant. I studied piano for eight years in my youth, and achieved a level where I played a pretty mean Chopin, if I may say so 🙂

So for now, I just have an image to kick off the debut of “Music Mondays”. I hope the upcoming weekly entries will be fun and enjoyable for all of us!

Gustav Klimt’s Music, from 1895:

8 thoughts on “Introducing Music Mondays

  1. Ilene Skeen says:

    Super idea! Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  2. Ron says:

    Terrific idea! Maybe you could also find an audio or video thematically connected to the artwork and post that as well. Looking forward to it.

  3. pevaeva says:

    Brilliant idea. Looking forward to your Music Mondays.

  4. Mya Turnay says:

    February 2010. Oh my, do not tell me you are not going to continue this post.

    I have just started a post for me primarily, but it is open to anyone who wants to learn a tid bit about music. I was blog shopping for posts to link to mine, and found yours.

    I do hope you will continue this.

  5. Mya Turnay says:

    See, I am still learning about blogs and even computers. I just now realized that you are currect, quite curent, and that I just happened to have fallen into your blog from an earlier post.

Leave a Reply

