Alvy and Annie

I couldn’t decide whether to acknowledge Valentine’s Day with a blog post or just ignore the whole trite, commercial, superficial, fabricated “holiday” altogether. I knew I wasn’t going to search through and select a group of sentimental love-themed artworks and post them here, that’s for damn sure. We don’t do clichés here at Museworthy, no we don’t.

So I thought about this Valentine’s Day situation for a while as it relates to my life. I am not currently in love with anyone. But I have been in love a few times in my 41 years. And each time it was deep and true, heady and exasperating, tender, maddening, exhilarating, and painful. Often simultaneously! Yeah it’s crazy. Worth it, but crazy all the same.

The idiotic thing about Valentine’s Day is the notion that chocolates and Hallmark cards are symbols of love. Or proof of devotion. Or that they represent anything about romantic relationships whatsoever. Of course they don’t. I think we all know that.

So before I drag out my thoughts and ramblings, as I’m prone to do, I will just get to my video selection. It’s a scene from the movie “Annie Hall” that I think bears some resemblance to relationships I’ve experienced: ruses mixed with sincerity, sweetness mixed with sarcasm, affection peppered with suspicion, alternately humorous and serious, held together with a bond, an intimate need that both comforts and terrifies. Diane Keaton is at her most adorable and endearing. As Annie, she employs the damsel-in-distress method of getting Alvy over to her place after they’ve been broken up for a while. Alvy, who is still not over her, comes right over.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone 🙂

2 thoughts on “Alvy and Annie

  1. Brian says:

    Annie Hall – a true classic if there ever was one…and one of my absolute, all time personal favorites!! I hope you are well (and warm!)…I agree with your take on Valentines day…like many others, a bit manufactured. Nonetheless, a day to remember life’s love(s) won and lost – not with bitterness, but with fond gratitude,
    admiration, and perhaps a bit of nostalgic wondering “what if….”

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      Thank you for those lovely and touching comments! I couldn’t have said it better myself.

      I didn’t know you were such an “Annie Hall” fan. Cool! And I’m smiling that it was you who commented on my Valentine’s Day post 🙂

      Great to hear from you, baby.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

