Cogitation

Ah, things on my mind, things on my mind, things on my mind. Grrr. Preoccupied. Obsessing. Twisting my thoughts into knots about this pesky issue. I won’t go into specifics but let me put it to you this way: I am either making a big deal out of something minor OR not making a big enough deal out of something major. Wait . . . huh? Whaaa?? 😯 Does that make sense to anyone? Oddly it does to me, and I’m leaning toward the former, but that may be because I’m an optimist πŸ˜‰ Nonetheless, the whole situation is thoroughly craptastic.

My brain function is definitely on overdrive. A frivolous kind of overdrive. Why else would I choose such a pretentious word for this post title. I mean, does anyone ever actually use the word “cogitation”? Of course not. Only me, when I’m in a droll, rascally mood.

This painting illustrates things pretty well. From the 19th century Scottish artist William Dyce, this is Omnia Vanitas, which translates into something like “Everything is vanity”. Yep, that sounds about right. Vanity indeed :sigh: Luckily, I’m going about my contemplation without the skull. EEWWWW!

8 thoughts on “Cogitation

  1. Andrew says:

    I hope it turns out to be not at all craptastic (my new favorite word).

  2. Rog says:

    You can say Craptastic, I can say Crapola. It is all beautimungous!

    Regardless, What I see that you may need is a piggy back ride.

  3. Of course you are making a big deal out of something minor but none the less, it might be a good idea to stop by the clinic and get that lump checked.

    There, did that help put it in perspective? πŸ˜‰

    Craptastic, crapola? Personally I like the Japanese word, ‘kuso’, as in “you don’t know jackkuso!”

    Dyce’s Omnia Vanitas: Not sure if she’s thoughtful or just thoughtless, vacuous, but none the less she’s nicely rendered.

    Done worry, be happy, just remember in every life a little kuso must fall. πŸ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I’m actually not bad in the perspective department, generally. I just slip once in a while! Luckily, my fretting phases don’t last long, relatively speaking.

      Things are much better today, so no more “kuso” going on here! I am kuso-free! πŸ™‚

      I don’t get vacuous from the Dyce girl, but maybe she’s just trying to block out the fact that she has her hand on a skull. Eeeww.

      Thanks for your comments, Jim!

      Claudia

  4. Jennifer says:

    Cogitations on sex n death, I guess, in the painting (given the model’s scanty drapery and skull fondling). Hope the crapkuso has finally left your thoughts …

Leave a Reply

