Holiday Flurry

Back in 2004 I lost all enthusiasm for the holidays. My father’s death was the main reason because he died right before Christmas 😥 The year before that, my grandmother died, also right before Christmas. So for a few years the month of December symbolized family tragedies for the Hajians. Even the family dog, Gracie, died in December. All of us, my mother and my brother included, were somewhat Grinch-like in our holiday attitude. We just prayed that the damn month would pass with nothing terrible happening. But last Christmas I began to feel interest in the season once again. And this year I’m getting into it even more. I feel like a kid again.

But the downside of this renewed excitement means I’m in a hapless state of disarray, With so many things to do my lack of time-budgeting skills is turning me into a scatterbrain. A joyful scatterbrain, but a scatterbrain nonetheless. There aren’t enough hours in the day! Cards, gifts, recipes, emails, errands, charity drop-offs, not to mention bothering liquor store employees about their meager selection of organic wines. I think they hate me 😆

In the midst of all this, I can barely find time to do yoga or any kind of exercise, although scurrying around the streets of New York and running down steps to catch a subway train constitute some degree of aerobic exercise. That’s why we New Yorkers are so skinny, didn’t you know that? There’s even a bit of art modeling work thrown into this mix. Last night I got home late from a painting group taught by the famous Aaron Shikler. And Saturday I’m posing for one of my all time favorite art classes – painting with Nicki Orbach at the National Academy. To my friend Damian, see you there sweetie!

Tonight I’m meeting another friend for a holiday drink which will be a lovely time for sure. And tomorrow I have to track down a specific gift for my cousin that I’m having trouble locating. Must find this gift, MUST find it! He will love it.

The city is strewn with lights, twinkling and shimmering over the avenues. Mobs of shoppers clog the sidewalks with massive shopping bags, people are ice skating at Rockefeller Center, and children beg to visit Santa at Macy’s. It’s Christmas in New York, and in spite of the painful holiday associations of the past, I’ve learned to love it again.

On that note, here’s my back and my butt 🙂


Photo by Fred Hatt

13 thoughts on “Holiday Flurry

  1. Jeff says:

    I’ve been in New York city twice this December. It’s a very cool place to be this time of year as long as the weather doesn’t get too bad (and it’s usually better than what we have).

    I’m glad to hear you got your appreciation for the holidays back, and speaking of “back”, thank you for the early Christmas present. Muse photos always improve my mood.

    Happy holidays.

    • artmodel says:

      Jeff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve missed you!!!!!!! Great to hear from you again! How odd, though, that it was my photographed nude flesh which prompted you to resume your comments 😉 Tee hee.

      I’m happy to hear that you’ve been down to good old NYC a couple of times. We’re getting blasted with cold temperatures now, and they say snow is on the way.

      I really hope you get back to sculpting very soon. I know you’ve been very busy.

      Happy holidays!!

      Claudia

      • Jeff says:

        You know, it really was just a coincidence. Honestly. (at least unless it not being a coincidence would cause it to happen more, in which case it wasn’t).

        Not that your nude flesh isn’t a great reason poke my head in and say “hi”, but the real reason I’ve started commenting again is that I finally finished the book I was working on and have time to breathe once again.

        And compared to where I live, NYC has been downright balmy, though you’re about to get pummeled with snow that’s going to miss us.

        I’ve been doing a little bit of sculpting, but my Studio is a mess right now. It became my wife’s impromptu storage area while I was writing, so I need to find the energy to get down there and make it useable again.

        Cheers!

  2. Ray says:

    Hi Claudia
    Glad your getting around and to seeing the beauty of NYC during the holidays. Sorry past Decembers brought you tragedies. Keep moving forward. You leave a lot of positive in your wake, like these great posts. Thanks. Say hi to your mom and talk to you soon!

    Awesome BUTT! What more could we want!

    Ray

    • artmodel says:

      Ray,

      You are far too generous using the word “awesome” to describe my backside. I’ve never thought it my best “asset” <—- haha. But I'm assuming you used a high-powered microscope to view it since it’s barely visible to the naked eye 😆

      Thanks so much for your warm wishes and kind thoughts. I will say hi to my mom for you. And I'm sure we'll all see each other soon in and around Spring Studio.

      Happy holidays!

      Claudia

  3. Best this season, Claudia!

    BTW: the picture is to let all of us know that you’ve got a little behind this Christmas? (sorry, I couldn’t resist. 🙂

  4. Andrew says:

    Hey Jim,
    Thanks for decoding the message (little behind).
    I was thinking, “Claudia’s back? I didn’t know she left.”

  5. Brian says:

    I just like to say that I really liked the “ending” to that blog…

  6. Ron says:

    Not to sound mushy
    But that’s a really nice tushy.

Leave a Reply

