Uptown Girl

Hello, hello, helloooooo!! I’m here everyone! Sorry for not posting the past few days. Just been immersed in my newest modeling gig at Janus Collaborative School of Art. I’m happy to report that it’s going really well ๐Ÿ™‚

The school is located uptown in East Harlem. Way uptown, on 117th street. Although getting up there is a bit of a schlep, it’s a very nice change. Most of New York’s art/art modeling activity, with a couple of exceptions, is oriented downtown. Well, let’s say south of midtown. But getting to Janus means a journey into “el Barrio”, or Spanish Harlem, a lively, exuberant neighborhood of shops, fruit stands, and community centers. Amid the hustle and bustle, just east of First Avenue, tucked up and away in an old brownstone, is the Janus School. As magnificent, superior north light streams down into the studios, serious art students explore the beauty and challenges of the academically-rendered human figure. They tackle anatomy, perspective, proportions, all the good stuff. And clearly they love and appreciate their models. The traditional schools always do.

I snapped a few pictures of the Janus School:

These drawings on the wall should give you a strong indication of the Janus approach toward art. Figures, figures, figures, anatomy, anatomy, anatomy. Speaking as a professional artist’s model, I approve!

There’s that awesome north light slicing behind the easels:

I haven’t been posing in this section of the studio, but I’d like to someday. It’s a really cool open space:

Although I’ve already emailed her, I want to again express sincere thanks to Liz Adams-Jones, my old pal from the National Academy, for referring me as a model to Janus Collaborative. I’m so grateful to her. The art field, like so many others, relies a lot on networking and relationships. Art schools and instructors have often gotten their best models through referrals, and many models have gotten their best jobs through referrals. It’s a wonderfully synergistic thing. So again, thanks Liz!!

I’d love to write more but I’m a bit tired as I’m sure you understand. I’ve been doing a standing contrapposto pose every day for the lovely students at Janus. They asked, I obliged. So right now I just need to chill out, watch TV, and find out what’s been going on in the world outside of my art modeling bubble. I’ll be back very soon!

10 thoughts on “Uptown Girl

  1. LK says:

    The open space is nice, but that thing I think one might have to somehow make look comfortable to sit on doesn’t look too comfortable…you must “really” love your job.

    : )

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love your intimate descriptions of off-the-beaten track New York! Glad to hear that the new modelling job is going so well. Also enjoyed the last few posts; have checked out ‘art inconnu’ and some fascinating paintings there await me …

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Jennifer! I appreciate you reading so regularly. And yes, Art Inconnu is fantastic. So much great artwork that has gone “unknown”. I’ll be enjoying it right along with you.

      Claudia

  3. Andrew says:

    Hey Uptown Girl, now I’ve got that Billy Joel tune stuck in my head. ๐Ÿ™‚

    To LK’s point, many model stands are as comfortable as sitting on a piece of plywood, because, well, you’re sitting on a piece of plywood.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew, plywood indeed! And the funny part is that even if a surface begins with a cushion/fabric, it ends up feeling like plywood anyway after three hours!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  4. Ron says:

    I like the snowflake effect. And welcome to uptown. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jennifer says:

    Is your blog snowing?!

    • Ron says:

      It’s already accumulated four inches at the bottom of the screen. Have to shovel now. All those nudes on the page must be chilly.

  6. artmodel says:

    Jennifer and Ron,

    It’s a Winter Wonderland!!! All we need now is a snowman and a snowball fight, and I expect all Museworthy readers to do their part ๐Ÿ™‚

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

