Just Another Sunday Post

It’s a chilly Sunday in New York, and I’m feeling a little run down, probably a result of the rambunctious singing, dancing, and piñata-smashing from my niece’s birthday party yesterday. She’s seven! And Olivia thoroughly revelled in her role as girl of the hour, at Rosa Mexicano on Columbus Avenue. It was a great party! Even greater guacamole 🙂

So now I’m heading over to my mother’s house to help her hang an enormous Christmas wreath, and I do mean enormous. Definitely a two-person job. After that I’m coming back home to stretch and do some exercise so I’m in tip top shape for my new week-long gig which starts tomorrow. Five days of painting and drawing, one continual pose I believe. Better strengthen up, and  hopefully make a good first impression.

This will be my last full week of work before the holiday break. After this I have just a few jobs here and there at individual groups, a private session, and one booking at Spring Studio. But overall my schedule will be light until after new year’s, and I’m more than ready for it. I’m pretty tired physically. If there’s any group of people who need time off to rest, rejuvenate, and recharge, it’s professional art models. Besides, I want to finish my holiday shopping, clean the house, and go out, hang with friends and have some social fun <– now there’s a novel idea! A social life 🙂

Here’s a video with some really terrific life drawings. Watching them inspired me for my new job. Hope they inspire you too . . .

9 thoughts on “Just Another Sunday Post

  1. Enjoy the holidays, Claudia!

    One of the nice things about this, your 400 level art appreciation course of study ;-), is that it’s often open ended ; I followed the You Tube link you provided (yep, great link) and after, in the same area, found John Berger’s videos wherein he explores and discusses the relationships twix artists & models.

    Merry Christmas:
    Jim in Alaska

    • artmodel says:

      Jim, I have to check those out. Sounds interesting!

      Thanks for your holiday wishes and for your always-excellent comments.

      Merry Christmas to you too!

      Claudia

  2. Ray says:

    Hi Claudia

    A great post with beautiful art work. Who did these drawings? Quite inspiring. Good luck with your new job. Thanks for this treat!
    Ray

    • artmodel says:

      Ray,

      I’m really glad you enjoyed the video! I don’t know who did these drawings. The video poster didn’t go into any detail. But it’s still a very nice assortment. I liked almost all of them.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  3. Rog says:

    Of course, I liked the spoon… but you would have predicted that.

    Yeah, I also loved the eyes of the woman on the right of the three woman. The emphasis of our human imperfection present in the drawings tells me that the creator of the video is quite understanding of what inspires the mind.

    Great video link… and super comment by Jim… I ought to look him up.

    …Rog, in Idaho.

    • artmodel says:

      Rog,

      The spoon made me smile! Hey, why not? I can handle a non-life subject now and then 😆

      Great hearing from you, Rog. Sending hugs out to Idaho!

      Claudia

  4. Tinytec says:

    Hello Claudia, just wanna say that I like your blog in general. Keep it up 🙂

  5. LK says:

    The video made for a very intriguing study moment for me (uhm…section 3:36, lol…but the drawing of the mother and her baby stood out for some reason for me too…I dunno why), but I hope you don’t mind me saying how much a visit makes me puppy dog, tail wagging happy to see ya…

    Have a good day today, I hope everything is going well for you.

    lk

  6. Gavin says:

    I haven’t explored all this site yet, so apologies if you know about this, but Channel 4 over here in the UK did a few programmes about life art;
    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/life-class-todays-nude/4od#2934381
    I’m happy to share this with you all, but don’t think I’ve forgotten about you invading Whitehaven!

Leave a Reply

