Gesture Boogie

Ask me to do quick poses and I am a happy girl. I get to move and bend, stretch and gesture, twirl and pivot, and stomp and slide across the platform. Because I own that sucker. The timer ticks away, and I have but a fleeting one minute to make my point. A mere sixty seconds to show everyone what I’m made of. Not a problem. One minute is all I need. Besides, I do well under pressure. I’m not a time glutton. Give me whatever you’ve got and I’ll just do my thing until “beep-beep-beep!”. Next pose. “beep-beep-beep!”. Next pose.

All the relevant info on the following quick sketches is this: me, Fred, and Monday morning at Spring Studio.
Cheers!

fredhatt-2009-11-02-claudia-qp1

fredhatt-2009-11-02-claudia-qp2

fredhatt-2009-11-02-claudia-qp4

fredhatt-2009-11-02-claudia-qp5

8 thoughts on “Gesture Boogie

  1. Andrew says:

    I have fun with gestures too. As a model, there are countless poses that can be held for a minute that just aren’t possible for 10 minutes. I usually don’t use the timer for 30-second or 1-minute poses. It seems easier to count the seconds. Anything longer I prefer to use the timer.

    I love the looseness of gesture drawings. They have an appealing simplicity and energy. They boil it down to the essential points — kind of like an executive summary, only not as stiff.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      About the timing, these sketches were done at Spring Studio where the session monitor always does the timing. Strict rule, no exceptions. It’s a nice arrangement in which the model doesn’t have to be bothered with the timing.

      Whenever I do have to time myself, I actually prefer to reset the timer for the quick poses. It keeps a rhythm going that I seem to respond to. I’ve done the counting in my head, but I find it too preoccupying, almost stressful. Maybe I just have poor concentration skills!

      Thanks so much for your comments.

      Claudia

  2. fredh1 says:

    Claudia, I’m honored to have my sketches appear again in Museworthy. I should point out, though, that these are not one-minute poses, but two-minute poses. I’m fast, but not that fast!

    When I’m timing the quick poses, I just keep one eye on the timer and call “Change” at two minute intervals. I have to admit occasionally I really get into a drawing and forget to call change, so that pose might be 2 minutes and 15 seconds, and the next one only 1:45.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yes, I knew that these were 2 minute poses and forgot to specify that, sorry. But the sketches serve the purpose of this post just fine, since ones and twos are both quick pose gestures. The difference is negligible, at least from a model’s standpoint. We still get to improvise and have fun! 🙂

      Your timing style of calling “change” is really good, even if the intervals aren’t always exact. Several monitors do that. I personally don’t care if it’s done verbally or via timer. As long as I don’t have to bother with it while I’m posing!

      Thanks for commenting, Fred. And thanks for the sketches!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    Having been on Fred’s Blog have discovered that these are from the same session as his recent post – you were certainly all very productive that day! I struggle with quick line drawings and have printed some of these off to study. My current way of working is to quickly sketch then work back into it, which doesn’t produce a clean line! I’m currently going to life drawing once a week at the local college (this class failed to run three years in a row and so I went to MeetUps in London, which was a huge and beneficial learning experience, but this year it’s more practical to ‘go local’ , plus I get to work at A1 on an easel again – luxury!) Yesterday was a difficult and frustrating day before the class and it was great to be able to work it all out through the paper and pencil!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I love reading about how dedicated you’re becoming to your drawing! As you know, I am not an artist myself, but from all my discussions with artists I’m aware that the “clean line” ability is a challenging one to achieve. Not an impossible one. Just a challenging one. So do not fret. Fred is exceptional at quick line drawings, as is Minerva Durham, the director of Spring Studio, where this session took place. She has an unbelievably clean, contoured line.

      I’m glad you printed out these sketches. I’ve noticed that drawing posts generate a lot of responses. I will try to do more drawing/sketch posts.

      Thanks for commenting Jennifer! Always great to hear your feedback.

      Claudia

  4. C.A.Margonper says:

    You did that in 60 seconds? I’m impressed. I couldn’t draw a straight line to save my life. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      C.A.,

      Greetings! I did not do those drawings, but I posed for them as the model. Fred Hatt is the artist, and I should clarify that they were done in two minutes, not one. Not that that makes a huge difference. Just a little.

      Thanks for posting a comment on Museworthy!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

