J

We have lost even this twilight.
No one saw us this evening hand in hand
while the blue night dropped on the world.

I have seen from my window
the fiesta of sunset in the distant mountain tops.

Sometimes a piece of sun
burned like a coin in my hand.

I remembered you with my soul clenched
in that sadness of mine that you know.

Where were you then?
Who else was there?
Saying what?
Why will the whole of love come on me suddenly
when I am sad and feel you are far away?

The book fell that always closed at twilight
and my blue sweater rolled like a hurt dog at my feet.

Always, always you recede through the evenings
toward the twilight erasing statues.

– Pablo Neruda, “Clenched Soul”

Hayez_Francesco_The_Kiss

Franceso Hayez,  The Kiss

8 thoughts on “J

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love Pablo Neruda’s poems. Haven’t read any of his poems for ages (or much poetry at all!) and it’s good to be reminded of them. Curiously, it seems to be a national poetry day over here and I’ve been hearing poetry on the TV and radio, so curious to find one on Museworthy too! Hopefully it wasn’t an unhappy recollection that caused you to post it … or if it was, that it served a purpose.

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      That is interesting, how you were exposed to so much poetry in one day. I assure you, I wasn’t in on the plan! But Neruda’s words are good anytime, anywhere I’d say.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  2. Waverly says:

    happiness to ya.

  3. K L Foster says:

    Claudia,
    Those first three lines gave me those ticklish butterflies in my stomach. I’ve never heard of Pablo Neruda but I will find out more. The painting..wow! is the only word that comes to mind.
    Putting all this together, it would be my guess that you just cast a love spell on some lucky person. There seems to be a warm glow emanating from Museworthy..whats going on?
    Sorry I missed the last couple..very lively.

    • artmodel says:

      KL,

      It’s more like a spell was cast on me than vice versa. Well, I’m not sure exactly. I’m not sure of a lot of things! It’s complicated. But it’s nice to hear that a “warm glow” is emanating from Museworthy, even though it’s not deliberate on my part.

      But he is a very private person, and I respect him immensely. Therefore I can’t elaborate, nor do I want to.

      I’m so glad I introduced you to Pablo Neruda. He’s one of my favorite poets. I’m also glad you like the painting. It’s a real beauty, isn’t it?

      Thanks for your comments, KL.

      Claudia

  4. fredh1 says:

    I love Neruda too. Even better in Spanish, which I don’t fluently understand, but the rhythms and sounds are so lovely.

  5. K L Foster says:

    How wonderfully complicated these things can be! It is what makes being alive worth it all.

Leave a Reply

