Random Stuff and a Vermeer

Hellooo, helloooooo!! Greetings from a rainy Sunday in New York. How is everyone? On the heels of Museworthy’s birthday bash, I’m sitting at home snacking on chips, spicy salsa, and avocado slices, AND typing away on my computer at the same time. See how I multitask!! Next I’ll add juggling and crocheting to the mix and you’ll really be impressed! 😆

For the blog, I plan to make some minor changes that are long overdue. I desperately need to start a third Image Gallery page, a chore that I have neglected for a while now. So much time has elapsed, and many art images have been published without being stored in a gallery for browsing. Sorry about that! I’ll get on it soon, I promise. I’m also going to reconfigure my sidebar with new categories for the blogroll. Then I want to do something better with my Events/News page, but I don’t know what yet.

Fall has arrived. The nippy chill in the air is proof of that. For me this time of year signifies steady art modeling work, and a lot of family and friends birthdays/anniversaries. I have presents to buy! Also, the fall heralds the new seasons for New York’s cultural institutions. Tickets are on sale for both Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center. I’ve been perusing the schedules for both online and still can’t decide which programs to attend. I like so many! For many years my father used to buy the subscription series, which was great. But that’s not practical for me because of my erratic work schedule. If a modeling job comes up on the date of a purchased performance, I have to miss the concert, and that sucks. So I buy individually. If I can pick up some Nutcracker tickets for my niece that would be excellent. And I already have tickets to Alvin Ailey in December. Yay!!

I’m really looking forward to the start of Ken Burns’ new PBS documentary tonight on the National Parks. And I have my fundraising Walk for Farm Sanctuary next Sunday. Totally psyched! I also have to sign up for fall projects with NewYorkCares, of which I am a member. But again, I have to work around modeling jobs.

I can’t conclude this post without some art, right? The big talked-about event in New York right now involves just ONE painting, believe it or not. The Milkmaid, the famous work by the Dutch master Johannes Vermeer, is on loan to the Metropolitan Museum from the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam. I went to see it yesterday with my mom and it was truly exquisite. Vermeer’s colors and composition are masterful. Trying to view the relatively small work meant maneuvering among a crowd 20 deep, huddled around the painting, monopolizing the area, pointing, having discussions, taking their sweet time and rudely hogging the area like they have it all to themselves. It makes you want to yell, “Move along people! We ALL want to see it, OK?? MOVE ALONG!!” But hey, that’s what you get for going to the Met on a Saturday.

Vermeer’s The Milkmaid, 1658:

vermeer-milkmaid

I have consumed my chips and avocado, so I bid you farewell for now. Regular blogging will resume again very soon. Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Random Stuff and a Vermeer

  1. fredh1 says:

    Vermeer is really unbelievable – he used the most expensive materials and the most refined technique to depict really down-to-earth subject matter. He anticipates a photographic aesthetic long before the invention of photography. His feel for the qualities of light and the textures and details of things, and his sense of composition, are exquisite.

    The Wikipedia article on this painting ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Milkmaid_%28Vermeer%29 ) ties it to a tradition of images depicting maids as sex objects and points out much erotic symbolism in the painting. But to me she looks quite demure and dignified and certainly in no way flirtatious. I think this is one of the most inward depictions of a model in all the classical paintings.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      The wall text at the Met also mentioned the erotic symbolism thing, but I agree with your opinion on that. If Vermeer tried to represent the eroticism, I didn’t pick up on it while I was viewing the painting. Maybe it’s just extremely subtle. But I see the young Milkmaid as simply lost in thought, innocently, distracting herself from the mundane chore before her.

      Enjoyed your comments immensely, and thanks for the Wiki link!

      Claudia

  2. Lori Gordon says:

    If there is one artist who has exponentially grown on me beyond any other, it’s Vermeer. He is able to portray such a sense of richness even in the matters of every day life — whether they be chores or entertainment. What could possibly be more decadent than homemade bread? It makes me want to break out the yeast, flour, and salt, and get to work in my own kitchen. This sense of every day richness is portrayed in color too, as we see in the cobalt head scarf in Girl With a Pearl Earring, or the rich salmon-colored dress in The Girl with the Wineglass.

    Thanks, Claudia!

    • artmodel says:

      Lori,

      Thanks to YOU for your always insightful and thoughtful comments! My journey of appreciation with Vermeer is almost identical to yours. I did have my mother singing his praises for a long time, which helped to wake me out of my indifference. His vignettes of everyday life have great depth and humanity. And the colors! Seeing them in person is an entirely different experience from seeing them in an art book or computer image.

      Great to hear from you, Lori!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

