Back in the Saddle

It’s arrived. The fall school semesters are upon us. Upon me. Even though I worked during the summer, albeit sporadically, this is the real deal. This is the full swing. This is the return of mayhem. Back-to-back bookings, muscle pulls, exhaustion, filthy platforms and paint stains, sprinting for subways, eating hastily during breaks, calling and emailing all day about bookings and scheduling.

I started yesterday, with a double! And which educational institution is so heartless and cruel to summon us back before we’ve gotten the August laze out of our system? BEFORE the Labor Day weekend? Evildoer, thy name is FIT 😆

IMG_1560

In the past I have greeted the new school year with joyful enthusiasm, and felt a “back to work” thrust of invigoration. I’m strangely missing that feeling this time around. In its place is a bit of discontent, a touch of dread, and fatigue. Fatigue? Now? WTF? It’s September 3rd! That is way, way too premature. By December I’m fatigued, but September? When I was posing at FIT yesterday I felt enervated. Weak, almost. Both physically and mentally. Less comfortable than I normally do. Less confident. Less strong. Less motivated. What’s the deal?

IMG_1565

Hmm. I’m not sure I like the implications of this. Ah, maybe I’m just reading too much into it and overanalyzing, which I am prone to do. I am wondering, though, if I am simply getting too old for this? All the hectic commuting, all the posing, all the erratic, insufficient meals and too cold studios, and a simmering shorter fuse (on my part) in dealing with difficult instructors and artists with an attitude? Is that it? Am I just getting too old for all this? My answer to you, my loyal readers is an emphatic “no comment”. Not yet. It’s too early to call. My gut feeling is that me and art modeling are just having a little lover’s quarrel. Working through a rough patch. I predict that we will smooth things out in due time.

So let’s take on the fall semester! I did have a nice smile yesterday when I turned the corner on Seventh Avenue and caught a glimpse FIT’s colorful, festive new window display:

IMG_1563

11 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle

  1. Jennifer says:

    Haven’t been able to log on for a week or two – thanks for such a lot of entertainment while I was eating my lunch 🙂

    Hope the gears will soon crank into action with regard to your hectic schedule. It really does sound exhausting – constant performance. I love the shots of NY that you slip into some of your posts!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Your use of the word “gears” is perfect. They have to be operating smoothly for a person to feel comfortable. Maybe I need a oil can!

      I’m happy to provide good entertainment, and thank for your comments!

      Claudia

      • alex says:

        I used to go that school back in the 1990’s brings back alot of great memories of my youthhood , I remember the sixth floor I will always cherish them especially when took up graphic design courses with Professor Christopher Spollen he was a great mentor, Barbara Hanlon, Jane Bixby Wller, George Rizzo and Jerry Ruisi, Dorothy Lovero , and Anna Ishikawa (she can be a real bitch sometimes). Those were the days the 1990’s.

  2. Bruce says:

    Hang in there Claudia, inertia is a terrible force that tries to stop all of us! and think of all of us artists in need of a muse. William Blake said:
    “Art can never exist without naked beauty displayed. “

    • artmodel says:

      Thank you, Bruce! You’re a dear, wonderful friend 🙂

      I love that quote from Blake, although it puts a lot of pressure on us models! I’ll do my best to keep displaying “naked beauty”, and will beat down the stifling force of inertia in the process.

      Claudia

  3. KL Foster says:

    As we age changes occur both psychological and chemical within the brain…god knows that I have been feeling them myself here lately with the fast approaching and dreaded eighth cycle of life coming on. Oh man does that ever sound like a load of bullshit!
    Seriously, it might be a precursor for coming change. Where do you see yourself in twenty years? I looked at myself and it scared me..live is going by to quick. Look ten years behind you..see your self in the present..then try to look ten years ahead. That is my mental exercise, many repetions of this and a picture starts to emerge. For you I hope that a book might appear. And that will be the last time that I will thump the book. As a matter of fact..I think that’s enough of the shit house advisor for one day also.

    • artmodel says:

      KL,

      All those “putting life in perspective” exercises can be quite daunting. But they are useful sometimes. Yours is heavy, although I’m no stranger to heavy thoughts!

      Thanks for your advice. It’s always welcome!

      Claudia

  4. KL Foster says:

    Oh yea..have a great weekend!

  5. Waverly says:

    Hey girly, it’d be sad to see you go. Duke it out with your gut feeling. Just like you said, it’s a rough patch. If you’re happy usually with what you do…just do it. Don’t worry about the future is my advise, just know what makes you happy.

    Take care.

    • artmodel says:

      Waverly,

      Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere 🙂 Art modeling still makes me happy, and I will not abandon it. We may have spats on occasion, but we still fundamentally understand each other.

      Your support and encouragement means a great deal. Thanks so much, friend . . .

      Claudia

  6. Jennifer says:

    Just commenting on the comments … yes, I think it must be true that mental change comes along with growing older. When I was younger I could never understand people who ‘couldn’t be bothered’ to do something or go somewhere – but increasingly I’ve become that person (and particularly with regard to the repetitive nature of domestic chores!). But that certainly doesn’t solve your problem of having to face such a hectic and demanding lifestyle. Perhaps what you’ve achieved in ‘Museworthy’ will provide a second-string to your bow and allow you to pursue other kinds of work, in combination with a less-hectic modelling schedule.

    Wishing you energy in the weeks to come …

Leave a Reply

