My Wildest Dreams

I can’t get it out of my head. This bizarre dream I had last night. You know how the vast majority of dreams fade away within minutes of waking up, but then there are those select few which are so intense and baffling that they linger? Well this one is a big time lingerer. It came in three parts, and it’s a damn freakshow. Indulge me as I recap:

Part 1 – I’m in my bedroom and I notice a peephole on the wall. For the record, I do not have a peephole in my bedroom. (Heck, I’m a professional art model, my whole life is one giant peephole! 😆 ) Anyway, I move around the room and the peephole is following me as I move, like a creepy camera lens. Eeewww! I shout “Stop it!”. It doesn’t stop. I jump on the bed, hide behind the dresser, but the pesky peephole follows me everywhere! I go completely batshit, and black out.

Part 2 – Suddenly I am in some kind of machinery factory, with assembly lines and forklifts, the whole deal. A scruffy worker comes up to me and says, “Your package is ready for pickup”. He hands me a big, heavy box. I open it up and it’s full of nails, bolts, hammers, pliers, etc. Confused, I ask, “But where is my veggie wrap?”. “It’s in there”, he answers. I say, “But did you hold the cheese? I requested no goat cheese”. Then the guy gets all testy with me. “Yeah, lady. No goat cheese! I’m not a fucking moron, ok?”. Geez. Sorry.

Part 3 – I’m walking down a deserted alley carrying the box. It’s broad daylight. A tall, dark-haired man wearing a black trench coat and hat approaches me. “Are you with a friend?” he asks. I say “Huh?”. He grins and says, “I have a friend. Wanna see him?”. As a street smart woman born and raised in NYC, I realize immediately what he’s about to do. “NO, NO, NO, NO, NOOOOO!!! I don’t want to see him! Not interested! Good bye!!”. I turn to leave, but the creep follows me, knocks the box out of my hands, and . . . opens his coat . . . and shows me his thing!!!! Ugh!!! Then he reaches for my hand and attempts to put it there!!! EEEK!!!

The dream ends, and I am jolted out of sleep at 4 AM with chest palpitations. I get up, go to the bathroom and splash cold water on my face.

The thought of analyzing that mess terrifies me. I mean, what kind of weird, insecure, neurotic stuff am I harboring in my subconscious? A peephole tracking my movements in my bedroom? What deep-seated fear does that symbolize? Ordering a veggie wrap from a factory, along with a box of bolts and nails? Huh? And being flashed by a pervert in the street? That last one I think I have all figured out. Here in New York there’s been a story lately in our local news about a guy exposing himself to women on the subway and how one of his quick-thinking victims snapped his picture with her cell phone. I read somewhere that recent news stories and real-life events can show up in dreams.

The Nightmare by Henry Fuseli, 1782:

heinrich_fuseli_nightmare

The dream master himself, Salvador Dali. This is Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee. Awesome painting!

dali-dream-bee

Venting all this here on the blog has alleviated some of my uneasiness, but I’m still a little creeped out. Let’s listen to some Dion. Anyone remember Dion? Of Dion and the Belmonts? I know you do, Mom! 🙂

9 thoughts on “My Wildest Dreams

  1. Elaine says:

    Thanks Claude for that song by Dion and the Belmonts. I do remember them, however your readers will assume my age. That’s okay, They were easy to listen to. Memories of the past.

  2. Fred says:

    Here’s a method of dream interpretation I’ve found to give interesting and possibly illuminating results. This comes from Freud’s “The Interpretation of Dreams” via my fuzzy memories of reading the book 25 or 30 years ago.

    Divide a piece of paper into two columns. On the left hand side list every element of the dream that you recall, no matter how inconsequential it may seem. You could go through your account above and list 1) bedroom, 2) peephole, 3) following camera lens, 4) jump on bed, 5) hide behind dresser, etc.

    Next, take look at these elements that you’ve separated out, just as words or phrases in isolation, ignoring the context. For each one, free-associate and write down the very first thing that pops into your head in the right hand column.

    Try to do all this without thinking about the whole thing, keeping the ideas isolated. When you’re done, you may find that simply reading the ideas in the right hand column reveals hidden connections or buried emotions.

    The idea is that the conscious mind can’t interpret dreams because it gets distracted by the narrative. The unconscious works through associations, representing abstractions through images or impressions, and the narrative aspect of dreams is just an accidental by-product.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I think you shared that method with me once before, and I appreciate the refresher course. I’m going to do it for all three sections of my dream and will let you know what my results reveal.

      The last paragraph of your comment was especially insightful. I think we too often dwell on the narrative aspect of dreams, expecting them to bear some resemblance to a rational, realistic scenario. That’s a mistake because they rarely do! And we tear our hair out trying to make sense of it all. Better to focus on the imagery and abstractions, which is the language of the unconscious mind.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Rog says:

    Group Theory aside… I sure wish Freud was around to analyze this dream set…i love to study dream sets….but I don’t think you want any stranger doing it …… btw… i design things in my dreams….

    • artmodel says:

      Rog,

      I welcome any and all interpretations. Besides, I shared it on my blog so I suppose I’m inviting analysis. Yes, I imagine Freud would have had a good time with this one!

      Good to hear from you.

      Claudia

  4. Ron says:

    Did you ever have either of these dreams? You’re in college or high school and there’s a big test coming up. You suddenly realize that you’ve never attended the class and you don’t know the first thing about the subject. So many people have had this dream that I once saw it dramatized on an Apple commercial.

    Naked in public. Despite your job, I bet you might have had that one too, the nakedness possibly being more symbolic (of what?) than literal. I’ve had both.

    • artmodel says:

      Ron,

      Yes, I have had that dream, only it wasn’t in dream form. It was real life! Didn’t go to class? Been there, done that 😆

      All kidding aside, this dream carries not simply nakedness but voyeurism, which is a different thing entirely. Nakedness is common in dreams but I assume it represents something else for those of us who make a living at it. I’m actually more perplexed with the veggie sandwich at the factory. WTF?

      Thanks for commenting Ron!

      Claudia

  5. fredh1 says:

    Maybe part 2 represents anxiety about the sources of our food – “factory farming”, worry about vegan food being contaminated by animal products, impatient reactions of others towards your food concerns, etc.

    As for parts 1 and 3, I would imagine that your profession subjects you to some degree of unwanted sexual attention, especially of the voyeur/exhibitionist slant.

    Dreams are frequently outlets to express anxieties, and I would expect that’s the source of the imagery here. Doing the breakdown and free-association method I mentioned above may yield more personal or more specific connections.

Leave a Reply

