Lollygag

So I have a few hours of free afternoon time today, and I had hoped to use it productively, “hoped” being the operative word there. Two monstrous house chores have been unattended for weeks now, and because I neglected them for so long they have swollen exponentially to freakish proportions. I can’t seem to get started on either. One is the kitchen table paper pile. Don’t pretend like you don’t know what I mean by “kitchen table paper pile”. You know exactly what that means! Mail envelopes, magazines, postcards, loose slips of paper, all in unsorted stacks. I have at the moment, four stacks. Four! Oh god, it’s a horror.

The other task can be summed up in one word: closets. Noooooo!!!! I’m truly frightened to go in there, because I envision piles on the floor, hooks with nine or ten garments hanging on for dear life, winter clothes mixed in with summer clothes, a crumpled hat here, a wrinkled tunic there, half a bathing suit. Total wardrobe chaos. And I think there’s a long-lost pair of shoes buried under there somewhere. Help!! 😈

The problem is that I can’t put it off until tomorrow because I am working all day up in Tarrytown, NY. So I am without the trusty, reassuring buffer zone of procrastination. What an unnerving feeling! My procrastinator’s soul can’t handle it.

So I’d better log off immediately and try to tackle one of these chores. Otherwise I’ll dilly-dally on the Internet and waste tons of valuable time and the whole afternoon will be frittered away on nonsense. But first I’m going to water my plants. I’ll be back soon, my darling friends. Until then here’s a drawing of me by Bob Palevitz from my yesterday pose at Spring Studio. It’s charcoal and white conté crayon:

IMG_1550

6 thoughts on “Lollygag

  1. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Great drawing and great pose, as always…

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hope you managed to get your piles or closet sorted out! I finally hit a long-standing pile this year and found my birth certificate that had been missing for five years – couldn’t believe that’s how long it had been since I’d last gone through that pile! Must do better …

    Love the drawing; also the red conte/wash ones a few posts back. I often use conte and didn’t realise you could use it in that way, so that’s something to try next time I get back to a class!

    Good luck with your forthcoming animal rights activism and hope your collective voices are heard.

    By the way, I took a look at your first entry the other day out of interest – I think you can assume you’ve achieved your blogging aims!

    Have a good Sunday,

    best wishes

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I enjoyed your comments, as always 🙂

      I never got to the closets, but am tackling the paper pile, as the sight of that one annoys me more.

      It’s so cool that you went back and read my first-ever Museworthy entry! I remember it well. I’m glad you think I’ve achieved my stated blogging aims, although I continue to evolve the blog over time.

      Thanks very much for your support of my animal rights work. It means a lot!

      Great to hear from you.

      Claudia

  3. LK says:

    What’s interesting is the humility in your words in this post, all the while being immortalized in elegant beauty: the lines in the drawing at the bottom left materializing into the benign and wholesome figure that is you…simply incredible…fascinating…

    Your dream is highly indicative and mirroring of the life you live, fully exposed to people a lot with probably a few who secretly desire for you maybe. The tools might mean you have some things on the horizon that need to get done.

    Anyways, your image here is softly exquisite, someday I’d like to find out how to purchase one of these thoughtful scenes of you, someday when I have mula that is…

    Glad your rolling as awesome as ever, and I like how you labeled me on the blogroll, lol, wasn’t expecting that!

    luv scott

    • artmodel says:

      Thank you, Scott! Your comments were such a pleasure to read 🙂

      I like that you noticed those soft lines in the bottom left of the drawing. Bob is great that way, and it makes the drawing work beautifully.

      Your analysis of my dream sounds good to me, especially the “secret desire” part. Don’t know if it’s true, but I’ll take it! 😉

      Your spot on my blogroll is secure, friend. Glad you like it!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

