Humane Pursuits

What a marvelous two days I just had, and neither art nor art modeling was involved. Instead I was immersed in my other passion, animal rights advocacy. It began Tuesday night with an event I had marked down in my calendar with felt-tip pen inscribed stars, underlines, arrows, smilie faces, and other enthusiastic adornments. It looked like something you’d see in a fifth grade schoolgirl’s notebook. Why such giddy anticipation? Gene Baur, the co-founder of Farm Sanctuary, spoke at the mid-Manhattan branch of the New York Public Library, and what a terrific turnout! Gene is an inspiring, compassionate, dedicated man and I’m so happy I finally got to meet him. He signed my copy of his book, Farm Sanctuary: Changing Hearts and Minds About Animals and Food, and it was an honor to shake his hand 🙂

Then last night I attended Farm Sanctuary’s August activist meeting, another terrific experience. It felt so good being among like-minded people, who came from all generations and walks of life, yet shared a common ethical and humane philosophy regarding the treatment of animals in agribusiness and the factory farm system.

The main topic of last night’s meeting agenda was the 2009 Walk For Farm Animals event. We are pysched!! The New York City walk will be on Sunday, October 4, but there will be walks held in cities throughout the United States: Los Angeles, San Franciso, Phoenix, Santa Monica, Denver, Hartford, Miami. Atlanta, Chicago, Minneapolis, Cleveland, Buffalo, Portland, Philadelphia, Austin, Richmond, are just a few of the cities participating. Our Canadian supporters are holding walks in Toronto and Vancouver. Any of my readers who are interested in this event can check for their city on the locations page.

And I’m not done yet. Next week I have another meeting with my other group Mercy for Animals. The midwest-based organization has now opened a New York headquarters and has already organized a network of supporters and volunteers. We had a launch party last month, and it was a blast!

I’m back to work tomorrow and throughout the weekend. I anticipate that my fall schedule will be pretty full and active, wonderfully integrated with art modeling and animal campaigns. No problem. Its easy. Nude one day, activist T-shirt clad the next 🙂

Peace and love to you all . . .

As long as humans continue to be the ruthless destroyer of other beings, we will never know health or peace. For as long as people massacre animals, they will kill each other. Indeed, those who sow the seed of murder and pain will never reap joy or love.

– Pythagoras

4 thoughts on “Humane Pursuits

  1. fredh1 says:

    The animals thank you for your compassion and dedication!

  2. Ed says:

    Given your support of Mercy for Animals, I’m guessing you know about this already, but just in case you don’t:

    http://www.mercyforanimals.org/hatchery/

    Also, Claudia, I emailed you way back on 8/15, and having seen other comments similar to mine here (asking about missed email messages) from some other readers of your blog, I’m guessing you never received it, so I thought I’d ask about it.

    • artmodel says:

      Ed,

      Thank you so much for commenting! No, I did not receive your email, I apologize. Weird. I will email you directly.

      Yes, I know all about MFA’s hatchery investigation. I appreciate you bringing it to peoples’ attention.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

